Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In a recent game my Seraphim unit was pinned by a volley from a Thudd Gun. On my turn I elected to spend a faith pt. and use Light of the Emperor on them and succeeded, making them Fearless. I then proceeded to move them.
My opponent argued that they were still pinned because the pinning condition was met last turn.
I argued that because they were now fearless the pinning had no effect on them. A strict reading from the rulebook supports this:
pg 74, Universal Special Rules: Fearless - "...assumed to to automatically pass any Morale test they are required to take. They can NEVER be pinned."
We rolled for it and he won but I still think I'm right here. From my stand-point the Seraphim were pinned by the frightening mortars falling all around them but later gathered their faith in the Emperor and his divine protection and no longer cared about the shelling.
Secondarily...The rules for Entangled say that the unit is pinned, even if they could not normally be pinned. This effectively overrides that Fearless entry then for Entanglements then?
Per the Pinning rules on pg 32, a pinned unit "may not move, shoot or assault, or make any other actions in its following turn." (emphasis mine)
A pinned unit cannot do anything. Nothing in the Light of the Emperor's description nor in the general usage of Acts of Faith allows them to be used while pinned - so they cannot be used.
You can't even take the test.
Yes, a unit under the effects of LotE is immune to pinning, but you cannot start the turn that way.
Oh, and entanglement has the same effects as pinning, but it is not pinning. Anything that makes you immune to pinning does not make you immune to entanglement.
Well that clears that up! Thanks St.john70!