True Grit Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member flinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    Just wondering about the wording on the topic of true grit in the DH codex. I always thought(from my friends nurgle army) that a model with a bolter(in this case a storm bolter) and ccw always got 2 attacks, 1 base and one for 2 weapons, but then not getting the +1 for charging. Now when i looked in the DH codex it says that they get the bonus for 2 CCW's, but only if they dont charge. Well, if they shoot off their storm bolters and then charge, do they only get one attack then since now you lose the charghe bonus due to the TAR? I'm really confused about this.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot WolfRaider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New Mexico
    Age
    53
    Posts
    1,659
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    22 (x4)

    True grit does not work on the round you charge. The bolters are too unwieldy. So if you play TAR and loose the +1A for shooting before a charge, you also do not get the two weapon combo bonus. Sometimes pistols are better.

  4. #3
    Senior Member flinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    So i guess its not worth shooting then?

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    shooting or not depends on the enemy, but i woudl suggest shooting most of time

    this is beacause u will only lose 1 S6 AP- attack but gain 2 S4 AP5 which against alot of enemies will be better than the extra attack

    it is all personal perference

  6. #5
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    It depends what you're about to assault. If it's a horde type unit, with a lot of low-T models, I shoot then assault. The two low-S shots will be more useful than one extra attack later. If it's a squad of higher-T models, I don't shoot, because higher-S attacks will be more useful here.

  7. #6
    Senior Member flinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    what about your basic space marine enemy or CSM enemy? Not taking into account psycannons/incinerators?

  8. #7
    Son of LO mEGALOMANIAC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cranston, RI
    Age
    32
    Posts
    3,532
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x8)

    I'd say don't shoot, as the S of stormbolters is too low to be overly effective against power armor. Take the higher-S attacks.

  9. #8
    Senior Member flinger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    Yes but it is double the amount of attacks. I'll try and do some basic math(not that good but Ill give it a whirl). Ill just the calculations for the 1 CC attack and 2 shots. I know that either will be followed up by another CC attack but thats a given.

    10 grey knights against your basic marine

    NOT SHOOTING
    _
    9 attacks=6 hit, 5 wound, 1.6 dead marines
    1 justiciar attack=.6 hits, about .5 dead marine

    So thats rounded to 2.1 dead marines when not shooting.

    SHOOTING
    _ _
    20 shots=13.3 hit, 4.4 wound, about 1.5 dead marines

    I guess not shooting is the best bet against marines by 0.6 kills

    But now against guardsmen

    NOT SHOOTING
    _
    9 attacks=6 hit, 5 wound, 3.3 dead guardsmen
    1 justiciar attack= .6 hits, about .5 dead guardsmen

    That rounds to about 3.8 guardsmen

    SHOOTING
    _ _ _
    20 shots=13.3 hit, 8.8 wound, 8.8 dead gurdsmen

    Here its an overwhelming favorite for shooting. Thanks for everyone that responded.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    150
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    where do I find TAR rules? GW download? White Dwarf?

    If you shoot instead of assault, do you then consolidate? Or are you now in the hands of the enemy to decide the same in their assault phase?

    Because if you stay 6" apart and choose to shoot. Then enemy assaults in their phase, you get true grit bonus (base to base) since you didn't charge. Right? Or does TAR rules remove bonus attacks as a penelty for shooting?

    Thanks

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts