Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I recently added a whirlwind to my army, and am keen to use it. After reading the whirlwind tactica however, i still have a few questions.
Firstly, It says to chooose what type of missile the whirlie has before the game starts. Does that mean before you roll for table edge/mission or before deployment or after deployment or what?
Secondly, can the whirlwind pin enemy units?
Thirdly, Does it fire just like the vindicator? because it has a similar profile except for a g next to it. What does the G mean?
Black Templar (3000)
Imperial Guard (1500 and growing)
Both varieties of whirlwind loadout pin, both the mines and the vengeance rockets.
This is one of the reasons people like myself love castellans so much.
The whirlwind can fire indirect, but if you have line of sight, your scatter isn't nearly as bad.
In my case, usually people don't mind if you hold back on announcing which type its loaded out with until after you've heard what mission you're playing.
I've had some who don't care if I wait to announce until the first barrage gets fired.
If you want to mess with folks tho, have two different loadouts on two different whirlwinds.
ok, so the G means that it is a barrage weapon. thanks. Back to the choice of loadout though, if you were in a tournament say, when would you have to tell your opponent? Has there been a FAQ on this?
Not anymore. Now I think it just auto-scatters, like you use the little arrow on the hit side of the scatter dice.
Very close, but not quite.
A 'hit' result on the scatter dice is just that - a hit! You ignore the little arrow (that arrow is only used in situations where there must be a scattered result only, as far as I can tell. Which is not this case).
Essentially, you pick the target, and then roll the required scatter dice if your target is within range.
As ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar stated, read the barrage rules in the main 40k rule book, page 31. Its all in there!Don't forget that it's 2d6 and pick the highest, not 1d6 plus 1d6, for indirect fire out of line of sight! So the difference between LOS and non-LOS aint all that big. (Although you probably already knew this, just throwing this tid-bit in there seeing as so many people seem to not realise. Barrage scatter is not like deepstriking scatter.)The whirlwind can fire indirect, but if you have line of sight, your scatter isn't nearly as bad.Don't you hate the new harlequin rules? ;P They can't be hit this way. Dagnammit. But I digress.
The WW fires Barrage weapons, which means you can target any unit, even those which you can't see.Well, in a tournament, it pays to be as friendly as possible - I would suggest letting your opponent know as soon as reasonably possible.ok, so the G means that it is a barrage weapon. thanks. Back to the choice of loadout though, if you were in a tournament say, when would you have to tell your opponent? Has there been a FAQ on this?
However it does say as soon as the game begins...so i'd guess before the roll to see who goes first would just about do it. But i'm not exactly an authority on this particular decision.
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.