Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read the codex and my store's 5th Ed book cover to cover, and as I understood it, daemons in Codex: Daemons could not assault the turn they came in, no matter what.
Then GW publishes this on the website:
There's nothing like sitting waiting for something terrible to happen, but that was exactly the case for any Daemons without fleet of foot prior to 5th edition 40K. They would deep strike into play and then have to face a turn of punishing firepower, all bunched up - the perfect victims for blast weapons and templates. Now, thanks to the run rule, they can always make a D6" move when they land, letting them spread out and increasing their survivability no end. Let's not forget those Daemons that do have fleet of foot either - not only does the above apply to them, but they're able to charge into combat straight after deep striking if they want. Scary.
Did I miss something!? Is this a typo, or is there a faq?
Please note, this are Chaos Deamons from the Deamons codex, NOT Lesser Daemons or Greater Daemons in Codex: CSM, which have different rules.
Last edited by Dr. Paris; July 11th, 2008 at 21:32.
Nope, that's another case of GW messing it up for all of us.
The DS rules clearly state that even if you are fleet you cannot assault after Deep Striking.
Daemons are fine without that stupid gimmick anyway. Assaulting after DS would make them broken beyond compare, even as a Daemon player I wouldn't want that.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
Run allows you to move in the shooting phase and indeed spread the demons out to make them less vunerable. However, while now allows you to assualt after executing a 'run' it does not override the Deep Strike rules which still clearly state that you cannot assualt out of a deep strike.
At least unless your codex has something that says otherwise.
Do not question the dice gods for their wrath is swift and terrible.