Welcome to Librarium Online!
After reading about the magic rules in the back of the BRB, if i have a wizard/mage that knows all the magic from one magic lore but he is only a level 2 wizard/mage, do i then roll 2 dice for his level to see what spells he generates & if so, is it the same for different level wizards/mages eg. lv3, lv4? thanx
p.s sorry if this question has been asked before, but i'm just curious because me & my friend never really read the fine detail about it.
So do they roll a D6 to see what spell they use or can you choose what spells they can use?
"Should take you a while though because of your sloth like pace"
Click here and watch Gedderz try and cross the road
@realitycheque, thanx for telling me that Loremasters know all spells from one specific lore.
@Gedderz, yes that's exactly what i meant "in game" thanx, so how many spells can a Loremaster use each magic phase?
You might want to brush up reading the rules You can cast each spell you know once per magic phase as long as you have the dice to cast it. It's all in the magic section
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
It's a little more complicated than that.
No loremaster can ACTUALLY cast every spell he knows in a single turn. You're limited by the maximum size of the power die pool (can't have more than 12 at any one time), and needing to get to the minimum casting value means that even with a full casting pool and a few bonuses, you generally need more dice than are going to be available to cast all six (or seven?) spells in a lore.
Furthermore, attempting to min-max it is self-defeating. If your wizard doesn't manage to cast a spell, then he can't cast any more spells in this magic phase; if you only have one wizard and he botches his first spell, even if you've still got 11 dice in your pool, you're done for the turn. So if you try to juuuust barely hit your target numbers, and the dice gods are even a little mean to you, you can end up a lot worse off than if you pick 2-3 spells and cast 'em with extra dice.
You might be tempted to take a really powerful wizard (level 4 with some kind of casting level bonus item?) and roll only one die on easy spells, saving extra oomph for later in the magic phase and drawing your enemy's dispel dice away from the stuff you really want to cast. Dangerous tactic. Spells auto-fail on a die roll of 1 or 2, no matter what bonuses you might have on top of that. That's pretty unusual on 2d6, but it's quite common on 1d6. On the other hand, if you've got a die left over, it can be a good way to finish off a magic phase - if you fail, oh well, you weren't casting any more anyway.
Interestingly, miscasts don't end your wizard's turn (though many of them will suck dice out of your power pool, and your wizard can't cast if the miscast, er, kills him...)