Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey all. I'd like to raise a gaming etiquette subject..
Accidently dropping a dice (or 2) before you roll a handful.. To me its always been a touchy moment..
If the 'accidental' roll is a fail, you dont want to keep the failed roll, but you feel bad about saying it wasnt really the roll and picking it up again..
On the other hand, if it is a successful 'roll', you feel bad about saying 'that counts!!'
What do you guys do?
Dark Elves - Game #28 vs High Elves: Draw
W L D
21 5 5
For me, anything that stops its roll and is seen by myself or anyone else counts. If I accidentally drop a die to the table before I meant to, I'll attempt to catch it on its bounce; if one rolls off the table, I try to get ahold of it without looking at the result and re-roll it on the tabletop. Should I miss the grab in the former case or if the result is visible in the latter, I accept what's been done.
That's just my system, though; if my buddies don't adhere to it, I don't mind. I'll call them to be more careful if they have repeated "accidental" rolls, though.
Last edited by skyfish; July 10th, 2007 at 04:04. Reason: clarification
ifi accidently drop a dice, i pick it up and roll it with the lot regardless of the outcome, even if its a rending 6
your opponent will know whats a real roll and what isnt :shifty:
I'll have it count as a roll.
I only drop them when I've got a big handful to roll, in which case it's impossible to pick the dice up again without taking ages.
Do watch out for people that will drop a few and then hit the dice with the main roll, changing the results. Can be crafty sometimes...
If I drop a few when I'm ready to roll, I'll just quickly roll the rest of them, making whatever i dropped a part of my roll before I had a chance to think about the result (or possibly even before the die has settled). If I drop a few well before I'm ready to roll, I'll pick them up again. My friends and I are competitive, we debate rules and the likes, but nobody cheats. It's a game, and winning means nothing if you don't play fair.
If dice go off the table, it's normally a case of quickly yelling "Counts!" or "Doesn't count!" before the die has come to a halt. We're not really fussed what's called, and I'm pretty sure none of us even has one call that we always stick with, it's whatever catches our fancy at the instant. As long as you call it before you see the result, it's all good. And if you don't, generally it counts.
If it goes off he table it has to be re-rolled.
If you call it a Missile launcher, then it'll never hit anything.
100% of people who aren't Karmoon know Saraneth is invincible.
Yeah, I usually re-roll anything that was dropped regardless of the outcome. This also includes anything that goes off the table. I consider something to be a "drop" if it isn't part of a large singular roll. So if I'm rolling 10 dice and two come out before the other eight, those are drops.
Normally try to grab them before they have settled if not I will re-roll them any way.
Usually only happens when you are trying to roll too many at once
"God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
"Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900
Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8
Any dice that falls and stays on the table is a roll, where I come from. The floor has bad energy
2H - LEGIO HYDRA
Accidental drops =/= rolls. Pick 'em up quick, and if it's a good roll make a note of letting people know about your principles, so that they recognize your intention and are not anal when you accidentally roll something bad and re-roll.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt