Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i dont quit catch the rules for how many weapons a model is allowed to carry
is it for example allowed for a commander t carry a halberd, a spear a greatweapo, a longbow and still carry a shield??
i know it sounds weird for one model to carry that many things, but i cant find that it isnt legal
He can carry as many weapons as you want, but he can only use one. That means you could give him a halberd and a great weapon and a bow. If given a magic weapon - you have to use that. Otherwise he could choose before the close combat started whether you wanted the great weapon or halberd. the bow can always be used as long as he's not in combat because you use that in the shooting phase and not the close combat phase.
you really ought to just pick one though, it's not like the high elves have a ton of extra points to just throw away.
Firstly, all models must by WYSWYG for competitive play- so if you want to give him all those weapons, you better find a way to attach them all!
Also- the book says:
"may choose EITHER [additional weapons] OR [additional weapon]"
sounds to me like you only get one of those options. especially when just below it, you see a sentence worded the same way:
"may wear EITHER [additional armors] OR [additional armor]"
and you and i both know that you can only have one suit of armor.
You can give a character a bow, along with an additional weapon, as it is in a seperate bracket. The reason you'd ever give a character a longbow for 10pts is beyond me, but it can be done.
Magical weapons are also limited to just ONE weapon. And, you cannot have both mundane and magic weapons. So if he has a magic sword, he ONLY has a magic sword, and doesn't even have the hand-weapon he starts with. He can still have the bow though...
Lastly, I don't see why you'd want multiple weapons, because- as stated: you only get to use one of them per combat. And when you get right down to it:
spear- your character is always in the front rank, or could take a lance if mounted
halberd- your character could take a great weapon for a larger bonus, or use a great weapon if mounted.
additional hand weapon: ...are you asking to be killed?
first of all, thanks for the information
i just want you to know im not that stupid, but was wondering if it was possible
i only used those weapons as examples
Heh, we've all done that.I didn't think you were stupid. Maybe I was stupid, because when I first started playing I think I tried to combine a sword of might and sword of attack to make a killer commander.
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes. After that, who cares, your a mile away and you have his shoes!!
Chuck Norris invented water
i know its true that you cant have two magic weapons. but im pretty sure he will still have a hand weapon, but, because one is a hand wep, an the other is a mag wep, you odnt get the +1A bonus. this means that if the weapon is destroyed, by spells ( vauls unmaking, not sure of name, just too lazy to look it up) you still have a hand weapon to fight with. otherwise you couldnt fight. minor difference, but i thought about it, so get back to me on that one if you find proof otherwise.