Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now that the new Armybook is out, the first issues start comining up.
I thought it would be nice to have a topic in which we can collect these questions and maybe look at them or stack them for a big FAQ round at a GW shop.
The things i am botherd with are:
-Drain magic, does it work on Tomb Kings?
-The weapon of Caladryan (sp?) is it a halberd yes/no?
So, what are you're burning Q about the new book?
"Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and terrifying to know"
I can answer one. Drain magic does work on Tomb Kings but the incantations are sucessful even on a negitive casting value, so you would still have to use one dice to dispel them.
One thing to look at is Tyrion's armour save. The rules state that he doesn't get the +1 to his save for Malandhir's barding but it makes no mention of whether he gets the bonus save for being mounted. As the rules are this means that he has a 0+ save, but it might be that GW forgot to mention the bonus for being mounted, so maybe he was only intended to have a 1+.
This isn't really a question as the rules are quite clear really (he gets a 0+) but I do think GW might have messed up and might be FAQing this to say he only gets 1+.
NO he doesnt, malahandir's a monstrues mount (dont say they pulled that away ffrom me.)
. "Stop complaining ponce and hit stuff with yer shiny new axe"
No, he's not a monster anymore. He's just like a regular steed now, but with a better statline of course.
I would say the following about all the questions here:
1) Does drain magic work on TK?
No it doesn't. As their incantations do not have a casting value, it is impossible to raise them by +3.
2) Is Caladryan weapon a halberd?
Yes. The item description text states that it is, so I would go out on a limb and say it is a Halberd.
3) Does dragon armour make you immune to flaming cannonballs?
No. The cannon ball just happens to be on fire. Just as it won't save you from a bolt thrower shot with that rune on it!!. It mearly means fire attacks, whos only damage comes from fire, ie dragon breath, warpfire thrower.
I will be writing a tactica on the new army book over the next week or so, so look out for it in the tactica section.
New LOChat functions now avaliable.
Need a list designed for any Fantasy army: Click Here
It SHOULD be a halberd, but since it only mentions that its a halberd in the fluffy description and not the actual rules bit I'd have to say that at the moment it doesn't count as a halberd. Of course as long as you're playing a good reasonable gamer then you should have no problem agreeing that it should be a halberd and treating it as such. Against rules lawyers it will probably be a different story.
When a weapon becomes magical it loses all its normal properties. This happens to dwarf gt weapons when they are given a rune, I assume its the same for Caradryan. I think its probably an oversight but it will have to be cleared up.