Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
can eltharion choose high magic? the book does not mention it, but i think its obvious he could
can a character with the talisman of hoeth (or the encanted thing wich makes the character a lvl 1 mage) still wear armour like in the previous edition?
1) This is unclear. We have mentioned it in the other thread about assembling questions for a FAQ. The fact that it only mentions the 8 lores makes it seem like he can't take High Magic but it also says he becomes a High Elf Mage and they can take High Magic. I would probably stick toone of the 8 lores to be safe until GW FAQs it.
2) A character with the Radiant Gem of Hoeth CAN wear armour to cast. In the 6th ed book it specified that he was allowed to wear armour because there was a rule that wizards could not wear armour and cast spells. There is no such rule in 7th ed, it's just that most wizards aren't given the option of armour.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
I created a Thread specially for Q like this.
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...d.php?t=107768 (For a new HE FAQ)
not critesizing but it would be handy to ask these Q all at a single place.
about the Q:
Well Ancalagon hit the nail on the head.
-The description at Eltharion says he can use any of teh 8 lores. Though he is classified as a HE mage and there might be a case in saying that justifies him for using high magic.
This reall needs to be answerd in a FAQ
-The 7th Ed. rulesbooks says nothing of not being able to cast while in armour. So blast away i'd say.
Hope it helps
"Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and terrifying to know"
From a practical perspective, if I played a High Elf player who used High Magic with Eltharion, I'd have no problems with it. It just makes sense. He's a High Elf for pete's sake!
Fluffwise it makes sense that Eltharion can't use high magic. High Elf mages only learn true magic (high magic) once they have mastered the winds of magic.
Eltharion is just a warrior that has a magical gem give him the ability to manipulate the winds of magic, it could be that he doesn't have the magical aptitude to use High Magic.
"I am the architect of fate!"