Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
in the past, this item was always useless to me, but now in the more expensive points/model version of the army book, I was thinking about using it on a prince as a way to sneak in an extra mage without actually purchasing one pointwise.
My question is, they dropped the phrasing about being able to cast while using armor. But I haven't been able to find a rule (in the big rulebook) that ever stated that you couldn't cast while wearing armor (even in the 6th edition book) The only thing I found was a little snippet under magic armor that says that some wizards can't wear armor. I know most wizards in the game can't select armor (stupid dragon mage) and the wording of the old R.Gem of Hoeth and the wording of Chaos Armor in the HoC book imply some special exception, but can anyone find where a magic user, can't cast while wearing armor? This would help clear up any questions that some of the older players may have when I break out the new list. If you could - pm me or post page numbers if you find something concrete. I've looked all through the new rulebook, and other than the vague little paragraph, have found nothing. I've looked through the old rulebook but not as thoroughly.
I was going to run my Prince like this R. Gem of Hoeth, Halberd, Barded Steed, Temakador's armor, Dispell Scroll, heavy armor for a 2+armor save, 5+ward and a level 1 who could cast Shield of Saphery and Drain Magic. It's a little different than running the lvl4 and BSB and noble (the alternative) that I came up with, but my friend stole and is using now.
Thanks in advance.
Your right, in the current rules there is nothing saying that a wizard can't cast while wearing armor. It's just that since most wizards don't have the option of getting armor, they can't in turn get magic armor.
So your prince is perfectly legal and can still cast his spells (or attempt to at least )
"I am the architect of fate!"
Just checking - thanks De!