Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just a quick question.
I know that Dragon Mages can swap one of their spells for Flaming Sword of Rhuin instead of Fireball but can they still swap their other spell for Fireball if they do not already have it?
I'd say yes. It doesn't state he can't just that he can swap for Flaming Sword.
Starting to think...
Maybe they could swap two of their spells?
Lvl. 2 with Silver Wand rolling 3, 5 and 6 then swap 5 and 6 for 1 and 2?
*Searching room for army book*
5000p. High Elves
I've got mine right at hand...
It says that you may swap to a sword of Rhuin rather than a fireball as normal.
So that is a no.
(Pg. 63 btw.)
Last edited by 002dk; January 27th, 2008 at 22:08.
Can't seem to find it.
Thank you for clearing up anyway.
5000p. High Elves
The option of chosing the first spell in the list is changed for the DM. He can chose the second spell in the lore he's allowed to use (fire).
So no, he can not chose the fireball spell.
If it moves, shoot it! If it doesn't move, shoot it anyway ... It might move later!
It says he may choose to swap for Flaming sword of ruin. Not that he has to swap for it.
3K Highest Elves
2K Saim-Hann Eldar
4K Pts Freaky Fast ORCS
5K Hive Fleet Devourer
2.5K Bretonnian Knights
3K Tomb Kings
So he can swap for either Fireball or Sword of Rhuin but only one spell can be swaped. Thanks that does answer the question.
The rule doesn't make this entirely clear. It says he may swap for Flaming Sword "rather than with Fireball as normal". This can be interpreted to mean that he may not swap for fireball, but it could also possibly just be bad wording. It doesn't state that you 'may not' swap for fireball, but that word "rather" implies it without being too definitive.
I'm starting to go around in circles here, so I'll just conclude that I'm not sure! Yet another case of GW wording things badly. *sigh*
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
The wording of the special rule the way it is now implies to me that you can either swap for fireball or flaming sword of rhuin.
thats the problem with anything written though. the person who wrote it will always think it makes sense because they know what they were thinking when they wrote it.
"I am the architect of fate!"