Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm trying to figure out which of this I want to use in a battle and am pondering whether I'm reading the rules correctly.
For BotS I treat it as a normal longbow (30" range, S3) but resolve hits like a bolt thrower. So am I right in thinking this means that if I'm hitting the first model in the unit I shoot at S3 (the strenght of a longbow hit) then S2 then S1 for subsequent ranks, OR if the hit is like a bolt from a bolt thrower, do I start at S6 then S5 etc. Also, does each wound cause 1 wound as per a regular longbow, or D3 with no armour save as per a bolt thrower?
For the RB, am I able to stand and shoot as normal? I ask because while the rule for BotS says you can still Stand & Shoot, the RB rules don't - although as the rule starts with the line "Treat the Reaver Bow as a normal longbow with the following exceptions" I'd assume that as you can stand and shoot with a longbow (unless the enemy is too close), you could shoot with the reaver Bow. If you choose to stand and shoot with the RB, do you have just one shot or three as per your shooting phase?
I'm kind of hoping I've got it wrong about the BotS and that wounds start at S6, rather than S3 - otherwise I can't see why you'd go for the BotS over the RB since the RB is 3 shots at S5
The Bow of the Seafarer IS effectively a Bolt Thrower, i.e. it shoots as S6 etc,
The Reaver Bow may stand and shoot, BUt you can only shoot once in stand-and shoot reactions. This weas cleared up in the FAQ.
I'm pritty sure it says in the details of the BotS that the shot in treated in all ways as if it was shot form bolt thower, not sure though since i don't have the book in front of me. as for the stand and shoot, they put the in there becasue noramly a blot thower (or any war machine) is unable to do so.
If you could provide the link to that FAQ, I have seen numerous discussions on this topic but don't remember reading about it in an official FAQ, I always play it the other way, ie RB is a normal bow that shoots 3 times when you fire. It isn't a concious choice that the shooter makes 1 or 3.
I figured that the statment about the BotS states it can shoot as charge reaction because a Bolt Thrower can't.
I'll dig out the reference. But it's all pretty simple, the BotSF says it may stand and shoot, and as it shoots like a bolt thrower, that is S6, D3 wounds, no armour save, 48" range.
The Reaver Bow states that it may shoot 3x in your Shooting phase. Since Stand and Shoot happens in your opponents movement phase, at no point should you be able to stand and shoot 3X unless somehow the enemy is charging in your shooting phase. All hits are resolved at S5.
The Reaver Bow shooting is cleared up on:
Last edited by kithre; November 10th, 2008 at 10:48.
Thanks for that Kithre.
I always read that the BotS shoots as follows.
Since it states that it is a normal longbow that it has a range of 30 inches, but hits with the strength of a bolt thrower and does the other bolt thrower stuff (penetrates ranks, does D3 wounds, ignores saves).
Thats just how I read it and how my gaming spot plays it.
"I am the architect of fate!"