Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ive got a question that ma be very dumb. If a magic weapon doesnt say it is somehting else ie. Halberd, 2 Hander, Lance then does it count as a hand weapon in regards to the +1 armor save for hand weapon and shield to the front? Thanks in advance
Welcome to LO! Always nice to have new members aboard.
To your question,
I would have to say that the weapon would have to be specifically classed as a 'Hand Weapon" to grant the Parry bonus (basically, the extra save you just outlined), since a hand weapon is just a mundane weapon type that people have if they don't have something cooler. (top of pg 56).
If we just class hand weapons in the same way as spears and GWs, then in order for a magic item to count as a magic spear/GW (and thus follow the rules on page 56), it has to have the specific weapon type in its entry.
Hope that helps.
Specifically, no, it does NOT grant the parry bonus, unless it specifically says it does...This is under teh rules for Magic Weapons....
question similar to the first one...caradryan... does his weapon count as hand weapon or is it a halberd?? cause in the reading in the rule book... u can see theyre saying its an halberd.. but its not wirtten in the weapon ruling.. just on top of it....
Thank you for the responses, also kinda in the same vein. I know that you can take a shield and a great weapon, you just use the shield for shooting. The question is if i take a magic shield that forces a opponent to reroll succesful hits, is it still in effect if im using my great weapon. Just curious, Thanks in advance
His weapon has been clarified in teh FAQ - Caradryan does indeed have a magical flaming uber-Halberd.
And DegenPaladin, no you cannot use the effects of teh shield unless you are using it, and you are not using it if you have a great weapon...
This is in the same vein,
Do magic shields and mundane hand weapons grant the parry bonus?
I am sure it has been answered in a FAQ somewhere but I can't find it, probably at the start of 6th ed.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group
The only mention is that magical weapons specifically do not count as hand weapons, there is nothing about shields...