HE armies and ASF - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    HE armies and ASF

    My daughter and I was playing the other day and the question came up. We are both playing HE and after the first round of combat who gets to strike first. I understand that who ever gets the charge off gets to strike first. I think it is highest int but I want to make sure.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Not even chargers go first.

    ASF versus ASF is in initiative order only, if both units have equal initiative then you roll off, it makes playing other HE armies a bit of a gamble. It is also one of the best things about Phoenix Gaurd their having I6 makes them fantastic against other ASF troops.
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

  4. #3
    Member Echoaaron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Leeds
    Age
    30
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Just to add to the above post if it is the second round of a combat and the units I is the same then the winner of the previous round will strike first. If it was drawn then it goes in I order.If thats the same u dice off.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    comment

    Therefore I am to assume that charging has no effect it is only int.

  6. #5
    Rushing Jaws Ancalagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lincolnshire, England
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    238 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by garythewargamer View Post
    Therefore I am to assume that charging has no effect it is only int.
    Yep. I think it's a little odd, but those are the rules.
    Thou shalt remember:
    Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.

    LINK - Guitarists of LO Group

  7. #6
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    2,610
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    160 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by garythewargamer View Post
    Therefore I am to assume that charging has no effect it is only int.
    you still get the other benefits of charging (ie. impact hits +1-2 strength for spears, lances,etc.)

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    346
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    comment

    Thanks everyone for your inputs. I believe I know the answer to my question. You guys have all helped out a whole bunch. Yes I understand that you still get the pluses for charging with the spears. I sometimes forget about that as the HE spearman really do not charge much. I mean you are giving up a rank of attacks. Now I am not saying that there are not circumstance which they should charge, help out a combat, flank or a rear charge or when you no longer have three ranks.

  9. #8
    Rushing Jaws Ancalagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lincolnshire, England
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    238 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by garythewargamer View Post
    Thanks everyone for your inputs. I believe I know the answer to my question. You guys have all helped out a whole bunch. Yes I understand that you still get the pluses for charging with the spears. I sometimes forget about that as the HE spearman really do not charge much. I mean you are giving up a rank of attacks. Now I am not saying that there are not circumstance which they should charge, help out a combat, flank or a rear charge or when you no longer have three ranks.
    Don't forget that the spear's charging bonus only applies to mounted units with spears. Infantry units with spears get the extra rank of fighting instead of the charge bonus.
    Thou shalt remember:
    Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.

    LINK - Guitarists of LO Group

  10. #9
    Member Vase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Utah
    Age
    34
    Posts
    198
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by buckero0 View Post
    you still get the other benefits of charging (ie. impact hits +1-2 strength for spears, lances,etc.)
    Good point here because if you charge with a chariot, you will get your impact hits off before any combat takes place, regardless of Initiative.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts