teclis rule help - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member Lokhir_Forever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mobile, Alabama
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    teclis rule help

    quick question? i read on this forum that teclis casts spells with irresistable force on the roll of any double. this surprised me because my friend says that he always cast a spell with irresistable force as long as he rolls the dice high enough for the spell to be cast? which one is it?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    No he needs to roll a double, provided he is using 5 dice he almost always will however.
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

  4. #3
    Member Lokhir_Forever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Mobile, Alabama
    Posts
    128
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    okay I just told him that and he still says I am wrong. i am wandering if maybe he has an older version of the High Elves book maybe? He has been playing High Elves for almost a year now, did a new codex come out in the last few months or something that changed Teclis' rules? Like, did his rules once say that his spells always cast with irresistible force and then later get changed to where they cast with irresistible force on the cast of any double like you say? Because he told me that in his book it says nothing about rolling on doubles.

  5. #4
    Junior Member stratovarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x1)

    The new book has only been out since early 2008 but I just checked the old book (2002) and that wasn't the case there either.

    Whatever the case, it is certainly true that he needs to cast a double to get the IF spell (Page 66 of the High Elf army book).

    Personally, I wouldn't bother. Get his twin Tyrion and rampage through the whole lot of them
    Last edited by stratovarion; April 2nd, 2009 at 21:33. Reason: Inserted page reference

  6. #5
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Teclis needs to roll a double AND also beat the casting value of the spell though, and any double 1 still counts as a miscast...

  7. #6
    Member Slakhaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Luxemburg
    Age
    31
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hello,

    first of all Teclis only needs a double (of course no double 1) to cast a spell with irresistible force ( btw, imagine Teclis and an archmage lvl4 with the book of hoeth :-) ).

    If the Spell value is 12, and he launches with 3 dices 4 and a double 2 the spell is cast with irresistible force.

    With best regards;


    Slakhaar

  8. #7
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    TEven Teclis still needs to beat the casting value of a spell, it doesn't auto-cast on an irrestible force. FOr example if Drain magic is in play, a 12+ spell will NOT be cast if the opposing player rolls three dice and gets double 6 + 1 = 13...

  9. #8
    Member Slakhaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Luxemburg
    Age
    31
    Posts
    56
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Unfortunately I cannot agree, but maybe I'm wrong :-)

    Well, i'll ask GW by mail, think its the easiest thing :-)

  10. #9
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    This came up when the new HE book first came out.
    Looking at the main rule book, Teclis MUST equal or beat the casting value of the spell for it to be cast successfully, just like any other mage.
    IF he does this, and if the roll includes any (non-1) double, then the spell is cast with Irresistible Force.
    If the roll includes a double 1, the spell is miscast, no matter what the other dice are.

    Examples, using 4 dice to cast a 12+ spell:
    1, 1, 2, 3 = Miscast (double 1)
    1, 1, 6, 6 = Miscast (double 1 overrides double 6)
    1, 2, 2, 3 = Not Cast (despite the double)
    3, 4, 5, 6 = Cast (as normal)
    3, 4, 4, 6 = Cast with IF (beast casting value and includes a double)
    Last edited by Phoenix; April 3rd, 2009 at 13:18.

  11. #10
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Thanks Phenix...
    The conditions of casting must still be met as per the BRB, as stated so eloquently above :-)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts