Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So the RBT entry in the HE book says that the multiple shots are Str 4 with a -2 armor save. Does this mean that they are a total of -3 armor save? If the -2 included the -1 from Str 4, wouldn't the book just call it Str 4 armor piercing?
Assistance would be appreciated.
Fear me, mortals, for I am The Anointed, The Favored Son of Chaos, The Scourge of the World. The armies of the Gods rally behind me, and it is by My Will and by My Sword that your weakling nations shall fall. - Archaon, The Everchosen, Lord of the End Times
Technically S4 with armor piercing. Why they didn't call it that I don't know, just another example of GWs inconsistencies. So to answer your ? it is a S4 shot that has a -2 to AS instead of the normal -1 for S4.
6 shots, 4 strength each, no multiple shots modifier, -2 to their AS, 48" range and I don't believe there is a long range penalty for shooting over half distance...maybe someone else can verify that.
But if Rainlord is cast on it, it isn't armour piercing so only suffers -1 to hit not -2.
6 shots (not multiple shots) str4 armorpiercing (only -2) All other modifiers as normal.
Correct...and a very valid point. On rethinking my previous post, GW probably reserves armor piercing to "powder weapons" and other than the result of a magical affect, bows of any type will not be armor piercing but rely on S alone to negate AS, or special rules such as those of our RBT.But if Rainlord is cast on it, it isn't armour piercing so only suffers -1 to hit not -2.
I thought that this was going to be the case but DE repeater Cross Bows are armour piecing and not Black Powder.
Dwarf Organ Gun is Str 5, -3 AS and it is a gunpowder machine (trust me i know mine blows up every game)
Painting: 20 quarrelers
After reading this, and the HE book, and thinking about it, I think you may be right. I believe that the RBT spread is S4 (which is -1 AS) and with a -2 bonus applied on top. Otherwise they would have called it armor piercing (S4 -2 total AS modifier) but they didn't, which would therefore lead me to believe that it is a S4 -3 AS hit.
I think the key word in the description is "-2 penalty" Nowhere does it say that is all you modify the AS by, it says the hit is S4 and suffers a -2 penalty.
I haven't been playing it this way, but after thinking it over and discussing it with my regular opponent, it makes sense, especially with the lack of the phrase "armor piercing" in the RBT volley description. The S of the hit is irrelevant to the additional penalty caused by the hit. For all practical purposes it could be S3 or S2 with a -2 penalty.
What do others think?
i think it is -3 AS for the strength 4 with the additional -2 modifier.
big difference with armour piercing is that a really tough armour (3+ or better) would still give some sort of armour save against these bolts.
ow and the single bolt option of the RBT is armour piercing, like all bolt throwers
I am fairly confident that this was not the intention of the wording. Fantastic if you think you have found a loophole but if you read it in a straight forward manner then it says it is Strength 4 and your opponent suffers -2 to their armour save instead of the normal -1.
They would have said that targets suffer an additional -2 to their armour save if -3 was their intention.