Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The other day I was playing a friend of mine, and we got in a discussion about the LOS of a unit inside a wood. we thought the rules of the BRB where not as clear as we liked, so i'm asking it here
so got a few questions:
1 when can a normal unit charge another unit when it is still in a wood? does it really be on the edge? (2"?) and with the nice citadel woods that would be almost always??
2 does a unit of white lions (or wood elves) also needs to be on the edge of the wood?
3 does a unit with the banner of ellyrion need to use this rule also?
i hope you can help me
You can only see 2" through or out of a wood. So a unit charging another unit in a wood would still need to be 2" away to charge, and it would also need to be 2" away from teh edge of a wood to charge out at a target it can see.
The items/rules that allow things to move through woods without penalty do not allow the unit to see through woods as far as I know. Therefore, White Lions and Woodelves must within 2" of the edge of the woods to have line of sight out of them. To charge, only a single model in the unit needs to be able to see the enemy unit, though.
You are right about the size of most woods, but potentially, particularly with skirmishers you can stroll around just outside of 2" of each other, out of sight, if the woods are large enough.
The lack of sight also makes charging out more difficult, I think that you are always better to declare your distance to the edge, if you have the movement, you really don't want to try and be tricksome about something like that.
Just saying "I can see out of the woods" is enough really again assuming the woods are large enough.
the banner of ellyrion says you can treat difficult terrain as open ground for movement purposes.. do you still have to get to the edge of the wood then?? (cause it says open ground)
yes - as you treat it as open ground for movements only - you still have to have Line of Sight to charge enemies or shoot them