Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question on reforming after combat for the losing side if they pass a break test.
Basically, can you do it?
Scenario: my high elves vs my friends warriors of chaos.
I had 10 white lions that charged and broke a unit of marauders. on his following turn he managed to charge 12 Khorn warriors of chaos into my white lions flank, so only the right 2 models were in combat. This is a bad situation obviously but fine, the flank attack makes sense in my mind, only the right two models got to be in combat.
Anyway I lost combat but am stubborn and did not break so the next round of combat, do my white lions have to still stand there stupidly being attacked from the side? It's the only unit they are in combat with. Or am i allowed to reform them to face the enemy that is attacking me (which would make sense) seeing as how that's what one would expect to happen. I tried to find a rule on this in the main rulebook but all i found was the one that says the victories party gets a free reform.
If anyone could answer this please I'd appreciate it, and if i CAN reform, can you site a reference page for me to look at?
This is covered on Pg 46, BRB. But in your case you're out of luck.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Right, that's the page I read. It just doesn't make any sense that a unit attacked on the flank that doesn't break would continue to face the wrong direction.
I mean rules are rules, but that makes absolutely no sense does it?
What you can do is move any characters or the unit champ to the flank that is being attack. They will replace a regular model there. Might give you a better chance of winning the next round.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
You are right that it doesn't make sense in the static world of warhammer.
In reality I think that this is meant to represent the attackers driving you back in disarray (through numbers or casualties).
The manuevres you make when you win are due to the space won through the combat.
However a turn would make sense, not a reform, facing the attackers that will eventually arrive.