Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sorry guys, my google-fu is week today and i just cant find an answer to this.
How does the Banner of the World Dragon work in regard to Lizard men Engine of the Gods? I know the Engines cant be dispelled by any means. It doesnt dispell the spell, as it could still affect other units. It just wouldnt have an effect on the unit with the banner becasue its immune to all spell effects.
That correct? Ive asked a few mates and Im getting mixed answers.
I'd have to pull the Lizardman book and see EXACTLY how it is worded first. Off memory I was under the impression that while it is used in the spell phase and only if the Skink priest is still alive, that it is NOT a spell in that sense of the word but I would not quote me on that.
The attack from the Engine isn't magical so I would say with some certainty that it would work as normal. Shame really.
Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.
Its this bit thats getting me now
from the lizard man FAQ page2
Q. Page 55. Are the effects of the Engine of the Gods treated as a bound spell carried by the Skink Priest? Will a spell cast by the Priest stop the effects of the Engine? And will any effect of the Engine dispel a previously cast spell by the Skink Priest?
A. No. Although the Engine of the Gods can only be used so long as the Priest is alive, it isn’t any sort of magic item, and it’s not him that’s casting the spells.
That call it a spell, quiet clearly
If they are described as effects, and the only definition of spells are things that are cast by wizards, and the engine is not a wizard and the effects do not come from the priest, and the Engine cannot be dispelled by any means, it all leads me to believe that the Banner of the World Dragon does not protect the unit from the Engine.
That is my 2 cents and I may be totally off on this one.
Im not trying to dispell the effect though, Just nullify it on that unit with the banner. Its the part of the banners discription that says 'whatever there source' That whats getting me.
From what I've read and heard, I would say that the "spell" from the EotG actually is a spell, that's it. Now, it's stated in the Lizardmen Army Book that nothing can stop the spell, BUT, the Banner of the World Dragon doesn't stop spells, it makes a unit IMMUNE TO THE EFFECTS OF THE SPELL. This makes me believe that our banner stops the effects from the EotG.
It may be though, that GW intended an different meaning than the word "spell".
5000p. High Elves
Spells are cast by wizards using power dice, or are cast from bound items with a given casting value. The EotG effect is not a spell, and in my opinion that is an unfortunate choice of words for the FAQ to use. The Banner of the World Dragon does not offer any protection from the EotG Burning Alignment. High Elves have tons of ways to deal with the EotG, more than most armies, being able to negate its effects with a 60 point banner would just be overkill IMO.