Teclis, is he now a liability? will you still use him? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Member mishari26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Teclis, is he now a liability? will you still use him?

    After looking over the new 8th ed. rules, the first question that came to my mind was, they ruined Teclis ;((

    Being an IF machine, he's now a Miscast machine too!

    even though he ignores the 1st Miscast each turn, will you feel ok using him now?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Age
    26
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    according to what I've heard, Teclis will be an exeption here, making him actually even more powerfull, wait for the FAQ I'd say

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    35
    Posts
    347
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Ruined? Teclis imo is now easily the best hero in the game. He's always gonna have a ton of PD and DD. The spells are ridiculous as well. Take a look at Lore of Life, and imagine Teclis casting that lore, especially the final spell. The book it says that double 6's are a miscast, not double anything. But yes, wait for the FAQ before getting upset about anything.

  5. #4
    Member mishari26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Washout81 View Post
    ...The book it says that double 6's are a miscast, not double anything.
    well, as far as I remember, it said double 6's are IF. and that an IF triggers a Miscast (regardless of what caused the IF). so, just going by the letter of the new book, anytime Teclis gets an IF, that leads to a MC as well. is my reasoning wrong here?

    and any clue when these FAQs and coming out?

  6. #5
    Son of LO Wolf_Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    150 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by mishari26 View Post
    well, as far as I remember, it said double 6's are IF. and that an IF triggers a Miscast (regardless of what caused the IF). so, just going by the letter of the new book, anytime Teclis gets an IF, that leads to a MC as well. is my reasoning wrong here?

    and any clue when these FAQs and coming out?
    They will put out an errate in 2 weeks. I am sure he will not suffer a miscast for every irresistable force he generates. Or, they are redoing high elves next, so either way, no longer term problem here.
    Best Regards,
    Wolf_Pack

  7. #6
    Member biadetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    27
    Posts
    151
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    I think with 8th ed rules, this moment he's a liability. But thats all going to change with FAQ/errata.

    ANd Ive been hearing more and more that High ELves will get re-done soon?? WHy though? Its like not theyre the most outdated army, or that they dont still have a fairly good competetive army book?

  8. #7
    Member Strombole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Age
    41
    Posts
    237
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    I hope not since I just got him, but I dont think so. He still gets every spell, and a ton of power dice to cast them with, and he does have the miscast ignore. Im thinking hell be awesome with the right protection

  9. #8
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    My take on it would be that loosing control (the miscast table) will only be on double 6's, however he will have to meet casting values in order to cast the spells (even if he rolls a double), so very similar to how he works already.
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

  10. #9
    Member mishari26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    I was lucky enough to find someone to play with today (I'm on vacation in LA with family, so if you're in LA please msg me let's have a game ^^). and he was kind enough to point out that the 8th ed. book specifies that an IF only triggers a Miscast if it was a natural IF, meaning as some of you folks pointed out, double 6's.

    and if an IF was caused by a special ability or magic item, then it's just that, an IF, and doesn't trigger a Miscast.

    However, we scratched our heads over double 1's... he thought that Teclis should now get an IF even with double 1's! (yeah I thought he was too gracious also, but I could see where his logic was coming).

    I cast Flames of the Pheonix with 5 dice and it was 5,4,2,1,1. so it was enough to cast the spell, but my opponent thought that the double 1's should be considered an IF. what do you think?

  11. #10
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Yeah I think that he is right, the only thing that prevented double one's working before was that it already caused a miscast. That no longer occurs so there is no drawback to a double 1
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts