Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The new FAQ says that Korhil's weapon is paired, does this mean he gets an extra attack (a fourth attack)?
on a side note, does anyone ever put him on a chariot?
Yes I believe this is exactly what it means.
Chayal as a "Paired Weapon" gives Korhil an "Extra Attack". so he essentially swings 4 times at str6 with Killing blow now
actually this was a long argued point before.. people used to ask how come the army book lists Korhil having an "additional hand weapon".. and if that gave him an additional attack.. and if yes, at what str? etc.. so nice of GW to finally put this point to rest.
And also the model itself shows Korhil holding 2 axes, one on his shoulder and the other in the other hand
nice thats what i thought. Thanks
oh and forgot to answer your other question.
I used to toy with the idea of putting Korhil on a lion chariot before in 7th. ed. mainly because a rider on a chariot was US5 and that was enough to negate rank bonus. when flank charging. so that was kind of an alternative to a unit of DP's.. but it was too much of a "get-up" and the one time I actually did use that it was against Empire and his cannon shattered my chariot on 1st turn ;P so I never did again after that bad experience hehe
Now in 8th ed... I don't see why anyone would do that.. chariots in general relied on the hope that you would wipe out any retaliating enemies before they could attack you. now that's gone. so it's purely based on how much damage you do pound for pound because you can expect to be killed even if you kill alot.
If you say you'd get a better than average roll of 4 on the impact, plus 4 str5 attacks from the lions, and 2 str6 attacks from the crew. you could say you have about 8 hits landing on str5 or better.. you can approximately achieve the same punch with 6 Dragon Princes, which is 180 pts. while the chariot is 140.
both have the same movement range except the chariot has less armor and doesn't have to wheel so it would get in a better position easier, especially that now chariots regained the ability to march.
Excuse my ignorance but where does it say chariots can march? I would really like to surprise my opponent with this on the weekend.
i like the idea of a marching chariot, but it seems a little unlikely to me, so i searched a little through the book, and after 15 seconds i came to the following conclusion.
i'm sorry to destroy the party, but on page 86, second paragraph, the rule book says: although as the beasts are somewhat slowed by the chariot chassis, a chariot cannot march.
such a shame
Ahhh yes. you are right Veringmeier! thanks for catching that. they should have written it clearer
I've been wondering about Korhil myself.I havent been able to get the new rules and just had the following questions.
Would having him on a chariot make him and the Chariot act as a single character on a monstrous mount with the 4 wounds and toughness of 4 and Korhils attacks with killing blow and stomp attacks?
Assuming that he has the combined model thing would he be good for getting into combat alone and issuing challenges to take out characters and BSB?
What are people's thoughts on this
KJSparkz these are taken from the rulebook:
Page 105 - "If a character has taken a chariot as a mount, the whole model is trated as having the troop type 'chariot' and follows all the rules for both characters and chariot models. Characters on chariots cannot join other units. A chariot mount otherwise follows all the rules for a ridden monster save for the fact the chariot does not need to take a monster reaction test if the character is slain.
Therefore he can be in a chariot but they both can be attacked seperatly in close combat. He will also benefit from the +1 armour save for being mounted. Shooting will be randomised between chariot and character.
To answer your question, Korhil would still only have his normal statistic line. He would attack with his 4 attack and would still have his killing blow. He would not however be entitled to stomp attacks as chariots cannot sto (stomp (page 86).
Considering all of this he would still go pretty good on charge. D6 St5 Impact Hits + 4 St6 Attacks from Korhil with killing blow (striking first) + 1 St6 Attack from the remaining crew member (striking first) + 4 St5 attacks from the white lions (striking at I4). Hopefully you wont get many attacks back at you. Also as the chariot has the swiftstride special rule (roll 3D6 and pick the highest 2) + M8, it should hopefully always get the charge for you.
Im happy to be corrected or if someone interprets the rule differently to be told so
Also, a chariot does not have Stomp hits. Regardless of whether or not it's a character mount.
I think if you charge with him on the chariot on a unit that has any character and issue a challenge you'll be immune from anyone hitting the chariot save for the Challenger. And being stubborn makes him ideal for this. Since he can't cause disruption it wont matter if you hit from the front or flank. But if the challenge is refused it would be nice to hit in a flank to lessen supporting attacks coming your way plus the +1 for the flank.