Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How do people manage to protect an Archmage equipped with Forlaiths Robe and Talisman of Saphery?
As FR makes him have Ethereal rule I assume he cannot join a unit leaving him exposed to magical shooting attacks and magic missiles.I havent seen anything that would leave him join a unit of non Ethereal models.
Am I playing this right and if so How do others protect this type of build from magical shooting and Magic missiles?
Magical shooting is rare. Only Dwarves with runed-up weapons have magical shooting, so you're pretty safe from that. Sometimes you just have to take the loss, although keeping him out of LoS can work there.
For magical effects, spells, and missiles- keep him out of LoS and make sure to dispel inbound casts.
Where does it say "Folariath's Robes" make the Archmage ethereal?
It only says he cannot be harmed by any attacks except magical ones, and even if he had been etheral, he could have joined a unit.
You are confusing it with a normal character joining an etheral unit, which is not allowed.
5000p. High Elves
Ask me about the Black and White Space Marine on the Black and White Bike!!!
I was wondering what peoples opinions are on something that came up in a game a week or so ago:
I had the Talisman of Saphery and Forliath's Robe equipped archmage running in a unit of White Lions.
They took a charge from a Skaven Hell Pit Abomination who had the Warpstone Spikes upgrade (counts all attacks as if made by a Warpstone Weapon). The HPA proceeded to allocate most of its attacks at my archmage.
I stated that my mage's magic item combo made me immune to the attacks and my opponent stated that the Warpstone spikes nullified my protection. To settle the issue I allowed my mage to be hit and karma must have been smiling on me as my mage survived the attacks with 1 wound left!
However upon reading the wording of the Warpstone Spikes entry (counts all attacks as if made by a Warpstone Weapon) I have a feeling that I may have been immune to the attacks after all!!
What way do you guys see it?
in cases like this, where one rule tends to defy another, my friends and I typically look at the flavor text and over all concept of what's happening to settle disputes. After asking around my group we came to the conclusion that the mage is NOT protected. The Talisman nullifies MAGIC WEAPONS. That is to say an item that has been imbued by magical powers. The warpstone upgrade, however, says that the attacks count as if made by warpstone weapons. People here are trying to say that "Warpstone Weapon" is not a "Magic Weapon" as "'Warpstone' does not equal 'Magic'". I, however, like to look to the fluff like I said. The fluff here being that the spikes are driven into the flesh of the HPA, and through some radioactive process or something, all his attacks are radioactive. He's not carrying a specialized peice of equipment, he just has magic attacks. Just like a Demon.
I could be wrong on this one, It's happened before. I didn't look it up in the FAQ either, it might be there. But if it ever came across in my gaming community, thats how we'd have handled it. Hope it helps.
As a High Elf player, I'd say his attacks are magical even against the AM as he doesn't have a magic weapon, just some spikes sticking out of his body as part of a mutation.
5000p. High Elves