Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I seen many lists that field Archmages/Mages in Phoenix Guards units. I want to try it, but since I always fielded my casters in Archers units, I 'm at a loss about how the mechanics really works with the former strategy. Main thing is about the challenges, I think the champion can take the challenge instead of the mage, but in many cases, it just seems you put your wizard into close combat, which means in mortal danger.... One of my friends playing Dark Elves told me he put his Supreme Sorceress in his spearmen and he just make her leave the unit before a charge or getting charged, if it's possible....
Does Archmage / Phoenix Guards work in similar way?
Enlighten me please. Thanks in advance.
- In Asuryan's name
HE profile (W-L-D): 2-0-1
- Looking into the steely eyes of his foes, Kolgar felt his blood run cold. There was no fear upon the eyes of the Elves, only ruthless determination.
I can see the advantage of having a mage in a unit of phoenix guard, as if he blows up, they all get a ward save although I've never used PG's in a game.
My normal course of action is to take the mage out of the unit before being charged, or charging. I also move him out of a unit and closer to the enemy in order to get better range on my target (of course only if he has offensive spells).
With regards to challenges, one may always opt to decline a challenge. Also, you are correct that if the unit has a champion, they may take the challenge in the mage's stead. It is the choice of the one accepting the challenge of which character duels to the death.
You are correct in declining the challenge, when you do send the mage to the back of the unit where he is safe for the short term atleast and there is nothing in the rulebook where he needs to move back to the front rank of the unit at the end of a combat or turn so keeping him in the back of the unit doesn't sound like a half bad idea and with an archmage having the same LD value as the PG you won't loose anything if you need to test for it.
Me personally when I run this setup I have the archmage casting from the lore of shadow. If the PG do get into combat you can use the lore attribute to get him out of there. Usually I would cast mind razor on the PG with all the dice I can throw at the spell and swap him out for a prince/noble near by. Really its a win win situation, the Mage gets out and your PG are hitting at S9 (and your hero gets a Strength boost as well )
Last edited by The Shadow King; April 4th, 2011 at 13:42.
Warhammer Armies: High Elves, Tomb Kings, Daemons of Chaos
Warhammer 40k Armies: Chaos Daemons
Bloodbowl Teams: Mean Machine (Dwarves)