Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
me and my friend (playing dark elves) find a problem.
my block of spearmen and bsb vs hes black guards and hes master.
hes master striked first due to some banner he got on black guards and he killed by bsb with standard of balance, can hes black guards with lower iniative strike with hatred then or do the standard simply got the power left until the end of the turn?
and another thing, a unit who cant lose their frenzy how to do then?
an army that seeks to fight without the protection of the eagle claws is clearly courageous or inept. either way, í wish no part in it - Eolaran Greyhawk, Seamaster.
well I am new 2 HIgh Elves but if both people have the Always Strike First rule then the attacks are simultaneous.
as far as the banner goes, the model isn't going to lose frenzy they just can't use it.
I am pretty sure people will agree but I figured I would give you my opinion.
Eduardo is right.
The attacks are made simultaneously so all of your models get to fight.
If he kills the banner he'll probably get to re-roll for hatred. It depends on the exact wording.
Does the banner say 'in base contact'? then he gets his hatred.
Remember hatred always only counts in the first round of combat.
If he kills your BSB in the second round (or any other) he wont get his hatred because the first round has already passed.
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
If he has the ASF banner, ALL the models in the fight would strike simultaneously, so this wouldn't be an issue. They wouldn't get Hatred until the round AFTER they killed your BSB. (Because everyone strikes at the same time)
Last edited by Rising Leviathan; May 26th, 2011 at 15:57. Reason: Spelling
5000p. High Elves
First- guys, please remember to use proper punctuation and spell check. We have a lot of members here on LO who have the courtesy to accept English as the primary language on the boards, but aren't quite fluent. Poor spelling or "txt-speak" makes it hard to follow the conversations, and only decreases the number of replies you get.
Anyways, now that being an annoying Mod is out of the way, on to actually helping!
Leviathan- if all the models in the fight have ASF, it goes to Initiative order. I'm guessing that his Master has higher initiative than the BSB, or at least struck simultaneously. Then it would go down to the rest of the unit and then probably the Spearmen. I'm pretty sure that BG are I5 or I6.
Byjugo- the banner does indeed say 'In Contact with the Bearer'. So once he's dead, the Dark Elves will get their Hatred.
kingkalle- once the BSB with the Standard of Balance is dead, the banner no longer applies. Any Dark Elves who haven't attacked yet will be subject to Hatred again, and the unit of Spearmen are now subject to Psychology once more.
For your question about Frenzy, the rule in our armybook states that they lose Frenzy "exactly as if they had fought and lost a round of combat". If a unit can't lose Frenzy by losing combat, then the banner won't remove their Frenzy abilities. However, if they can lose Frenzy, they will lose it for the rest of the game, even if they kill the banner.
yea I thought that too I also play dark elves and black gaurd do have I6 and masters I7 but its not like 7th edition anymore so even if your fight an I2 enemy unit with always strikes first we would all fight at the same time.seems stupid to me youd think the higher intiative value would still get to strike first but not true anymore.your friend is still in 7th edition mindset thinking they can toss the hag greaf banner on a unit against high elves and come out on top.
Either way the black guard will get to re-roll missed hits not because of hatred but rather their "warrior elite" rule however his master would not be able to re-roll his hits. I play dark elves so i hope this helps
Yeah that's true,
I always forget this, so I never understand why my opponent re-rolls his dice when we both agree ASF on both cancels each other out re-roll wise.
5000p. High Elves