Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a question about extra dice from banner of sorcery/moon staff of lileath on teclis.lets say I roll 12 dice for winds of magic would all these extra dice get rolled for then at the beginning of the magic phase or can we use some dice then decide to generate our extra dice.cause it doesnt state that we have to at the beggining of the phase it just says that we get the extra dice" in each magic phase" sorry if this is answered some where already but it wasnt in gw's faq/errata for high elves
its been FAQ'ed. All additions to the power pool take place at the same time as the winds of magic. this includes channeling, banner of sorcery, annulian crystal, other effects or items, all of it happens at the very beginning. so if you roll 11 for winds of magic, roll +2 from banner of sorcery, and someone steals one, you'll still get the full 12 (11 + 2 - 1 = 12). I had the same questions when the new rules came out. And trust me, you won't make ANY friends if you try to play it like you're talking about. "oh look, i got 12..." cast cast cast "well i think i'll generate my extra dice now. hurray for +6 dice!" cast cast. even if it was legal, people would hate you for it.
ok i can aggree with that was just wondering cause i play dark elves also and we have the power of darkness spell which we can use after weve spent some dice i always save a couple dice to toss one each on my sorceresses at the very end and if my opponent already used all his dispell dice i can possibly get up to another 6 plus the two you tossed.very sneaky.the 11+2 someone steals one looks kinda fishy to me though seems like youd still be at 11 i could see someone complaining that u couldnt have more than 12 ever so there for u couldnt take away a thirteenth dice.idk ill have to look into it
The whole taking away the 13th die might be a misinterpretation, but I'm pretty sure that's how it all works. I'm opperating under the premise that everything happens at the exact same time. Thus, the addition and subtraction of dice from items and such, are more like modifiers that cancel each other out, and the end result is applied to the winds of magic roll. Thats always the way I've played it, and my opponents have always agreed. Even a judge at Ard Boys the other week agreed with me. There really is no telling how GW intended it to work without a specific reference in the FAQ, but with that kind of support i would keep playing it that way.
By the way.... i hate that dark elf spell. most of the time, i'll see people use it to try to get thier total up to 12, and i usually just let it go. More important spells to use my dice on. But saving it till the end like that, sneaky sneaky... i'm glad the dark elf player i know isn't smart enough to do that. i might tell him, just to see if he actually listens to me. He's the one that taught me how to play, and once i got a grasp of the game i started beating him rather regularly. he's a little sore about that as you might imagine....
Power of Darkness in conjunction with the Lore of Death is just obscene. The problem is you quickly run out of targets to snipe.
Don't people hate High Elves who use magic anyway? A few people I know will actuallly refuse to play a list that has Teclis in it.
thats funny yea it really depends on the roll for winds as to weather or not you try to cast power of darkness first or not but casting first doesnt make sence to me.cause the more dice u toss at it the worse your return is. so the most you would want to toss is 2 dice and if they are doing that first to try to get to 12 why not dispell it. i mean if he only rolls 4 for winds and trys to get more dice right off the bat better to try and dispell it.other reason to save just one dice for last is if you start off tryn to cast it u might fail and then your magic phase is over.as for the dice generation quess ill just have to explain to my opponents if that ever happens and see if they think its fine or not.hey ive also been wondering about teclis's loremaster ability as ive seen lots of ppl arguing over it about weather or not he get 6 spells or all spells.id say its suppost to be all spells.idk whats gw's problem with wording they must have some of the worst editors ever lol.but the funny thing is they faq/errata 3 parts of teclis why didnt they errata that? also if ppl say its just 6 then I quess the part that says teclis can choose his lore before the game starts means he can do just that, just like in 7th depending on what army were facing lol not that i plan on using him unless its a friendly game where some one wants to try and beat him
Last edited by affliction69; June 2nd, 2011 at 11:15.
Teclis gets all 7. The Loremaster rule is pretty self-explanatory on that. I mean, if he is a Master of the Lore I'm pretty sure he'd know the Signature Spell.
I tend to only use Power of Darkness if I need the extra dice, so it's usually saved for after big spells, because I roll it on 1 dice (basically a 3+), so it doesn't matter if my Caster fails as she has already has done the main spell I want her to do. Or I'll just use it as a blatant show of magical power, "Look at me, I can roll 12 dice on a single spell with a lvl 2".
Teclis is one of those characters you have to be carefull when and how you use him. in friendly games, I wouldn't use him without first clearing it with your opponent. He's just that sick in the magic phase. Your opponent can have 6 dispell dice, and not get to roll a single one. As devistating as he is, he tends to upset people. Now part of me likes to think along the lines of "if you can't beat him, sounds like your problem..." Teclis is really easy to kill if you know what you're doing. but taking that kind of attitude into a friendly game kinda defeats the purpose. Cometitions and tournaments, however... The gloves are off. I'm not going to walk into a tournament with my hands tied behind my back. If the option is present, I'm going to take it. I took Teclis to the Ard Boys this year so far, and I'm in the finals. I can't decide if i want to take him again though. As stated, he's really easy to kill, and the rest of the folks at the finals likely know how to do it.
Also, Teclis does NOT get to choose his lore before each game based on your opponent. that was FAQ'ed out. He does know all spells of his chosen lore, but must write that lore down on your army list prior to discovering what/who/how your enemy is.
lol thx for clearing that up do u know where its faqed at so i can print out the rules?