Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The Starlance is a lance, so on a charge it gets 3+ to Strength, and is AP. In the next turn, is it still AP?
'And you'll save me a leg if yer know wot's good for you.'-O+G E8, P38
The Star Lance isn't Armour Piercing, it ignores armour saves. And you've probably opened a can of worms here as, like Deathpiercer from the DE book, there are 2 ways to interpret its rules.
The rules for lances state they are only used on the charge. The rules for magic weapons states they are used all the time over mundane weaponry. In the case of the Star Lance my personal opinion is that it is a lance and therefore gives +3S and Ignore Armour on the charge, and does not Ignore Armour in subsequent rounds of the same combat as it is used on the charge being a lance.
There are many people who may disagree, there was a similar debate about Deathpiercer on the DE forum. I treat lances like the throwing spears from LOTR. Imagine a bunch of squires running around carrying bundles of lances saying "Jolly good thrust there Sire, fancy another lance?". Slightly Monty Python-esque.
Actually the army book specifically states that it ignores armour on the turn the model charges, in addition to the +3 str [High elves, Pg 99]
I assume Morgan Freeman is the voice of the Emperor.
My Painting Log! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...nes-horde.html
My bad if it does, my HE army book is currently 30 miles due east of me for the forseeable future. I was just working from what I could recall.
Due to the 8th edition lance rules, the issue really is open to debate. But I would say its +3S AP on the charge, and +2S in subsequent rounds. The wording on the Starlance says it gets +3 instead of +2 on the charge, and that it doesn't allow armor saves on the turn it charges. But the rules for lances don't say +2 S on the charge, rather than the lance is simply discarded unless the model charged. But since magic weapons are always used over mundane weapons, you keep the lance... and since the strength bonus does not specifically state it happens on the charge, i'd say its always there.
+3 S and no armor on the charge, +2 S regular modified armor save in all subsequent rounds.
The profile for lance in the special weapons section says +2S on charge only. That means lances are +2S on the charge, and are discarded in subsequent rounds. The Starlance gives +3 and Ignore Armour saves instead of the +2S, effectively you sacrifice the +2S on the charge from the lance for +3S and Ignore Armour saves on the charge.
How you figured out lances don't say +2S on the charge in the rules I'll never know, they've been +2S on charge as far back as I can remember. You can use the Starlance in subsequent rounds of combat after the charge if you so desire, as it's a magic weapon, however you won't get any strength bonuses or ignoring saves because those things happen on the charge, due to it being a lance, which gives all it's benefits on the charge.
I'm seriously thinking that was just a Troll post. If it's not then I reckon the Gene pool needs some chlorine.....
pg 90 warhammer 8th edition BRB
"Lance (Mounted models only)
A lance is a heavier, longer version of a spear, which cannot be used by models on foot.
Special Rules: -
*A lance is only used in a turn in which the wielder charged into combat. In subsequent turns (or if the wielder did not charge) the model uses its hand weapon."
Nowhere does it say the +2 is granted on the charge only. it says that there is a +2S modifier on the weapon, but the weapon is only used on the turn the model charges. but as you've agreed, you get to use a magic lance in subsequent rounds anyway, thus they maintain the +2 S.
I would appreciate it if you would stop insulting people on the boards. Especially since I'm not a "troll", but rather the one of the two of us that is actually right. Maybe you should drink that chlorine you're so fond of.....
Now, in the case of the Star Lance, the +2S is REPLACED by +3S and Ignore Armour. As it is BOTH a Lance and a Magic Weapon combining the two rules gives the following:
Star Lance: Lance
Special Rules: Ignore Armour saves, Magical Attacks
*A lance is only used in a turn in which the wielder charged into combat. In subsequent turns (or if the wielder did not charge) the model uses its hand weapon.
But, being a magic weapon it is said it is used in every round of combat in favour of Mundane Weaponry, but it would give no additional benefits (except from Magical Attacks) if the wielder of the Star Lance didn't charge in that turn, as lances are only used in the turn the wielder charged (as quoted directly from the BRB by you). The Star Lance is, by definition, a Lance and a Magic Weapon, therefore follows the rules set down by the BRB for Lances and for Magic Weapons.
I did state you can use a magic lance in subsequent rounds as it is a magic weapon, but see the above statements to clarify my point.
And I didn't insult you personally, don't flatter yourself, that's not my style. I merely commented upon the state of the Gene-pool. If anything it's the Gene-pool that should be insulted.
gonna be my last post to this thread, because you can only say the same thing so many times before it clear people are going to contort it to thier own purposes.
That is, however, exactly what you've done. you've interpreted the fact that the lance is lost in subsequent rounds, to mean that the bonus only applies on the charge. This, however, is an unfounded extrapolation. The rules state the the weapon itself recieves a +2 S bonus. The weapon is then discarded after the charge. This does not, however, mean that the bonus only applies on the charging turn. If you maintain control of the lance, you maintain the +2 S bonus. The wording is the same in the book for both the lance and the Great weapon. It is the weapon, not the act of charging, that gives the bonus. By contrast, you can read the 7th edition ruling on the lance:
"Lances (mounted only)
A lance is a heavier, longer version of a spear, used exclusively bu mounted warriors.
Rules: +2 Strength bonus when charging."
I'll admit that the spirit of the game states that lances should only be +2 on the charge, as this is the way its always been. However, if you follow the exact letter of the rules, you get to keep it.
What I do not understand is how you continue to come to this conclusion.""It is the weapon, not the act of charging, that gives the bonus
True, but in order to gain the bonus you have to charge, as per the rules which you quoted.
To be honest, I don't really gives two sh*ts about this. You are, to my knowledge, the only person who interprets the rules in this twisted and convoluted way to gain a petty advantage over your opponent, flying in the face of every interpretation of the rules. For you to be right, it means that I am wrong, fellow gamers worldwide are wrong, GW staff are wrong and even the creators of the rules are wrong. I am glad that I am probably never going to meet you at any point in my life, because you seem like the kind of obnoxius, rule-bending cheat that I would not wish to play against.
So I bid you a good night, and leave you with the following advice:
The condition you are suffering from, Ruleslawyer-itis, can be swiftly cured with a heady dose of Punchintheface-icillin.