Question on magical/mundane weapons - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Gosport, United Kingdom
    Age
    33
    Posts
    361
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Question on magical/mundane weapons

    Question:

    High elf Commander with a blade of sea gold (or any other magic weapon for that matter) mounted, also with a lance.

    Is it legal?

    Can you have a magical bow + lance, spear or other non-hand weapon for CC?

    Can you have a lance + any other magical weapon?

    I only ask, as Army builder keeps flagging it as a non-viable list due to my commander being set up, mounted, with a lance and also blade of sea gold (for the extra strength on the charge, then the no-save attacks during combat)


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Amadis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Naggaroth, the land of chill (Canada, Kingston)
    Age
    12
    Posts
    577
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexb83
    Question:

    High elf Commander with a blade of sea gold (or any other magic weapon for that matter) mounted, also with a lance.

    Is it legal?
    You're high elf commander is illegal. Only one weapon of choice, and a hand weapon is allowed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexb83
    Can you have a magical bow + lance, spear or other non-hand weapon for CC?
    You can only have ONE of the following... Magic or Mundane weapon, and no matter what you will ALWAYS have a hand weapon.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexb83
    Can you have a lance + any other magical weapon?
    No you can't. You're lance is automatically replaced when you choose a magic weapon.

  4. #3
    LO's unofficial Jester Visitor Q's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Vault 13
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,900
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    377 (x8)

    Essentially the magic weapon isn't just a piece of equipment but a part of that character and he would want to use it as much as possible and be seen to be using it.
    "God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
    "Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900

    Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    690
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    If you take a magic weapon you have to use it in close combat. So even if you were allowed to take a lance you still weren't allowed to use it unless the magic weapon got destroyed. On top of that you cannot charge with one weapon and then in the next round of combat switch to another. You have to stick with the same weapon until the character is out of combat. Example a character has a great weapon and uses it on the charge. The next round of combat he will have to keep using it. He can't switch to hand weapon shield so he doesn't strike last.

    The only exception is that you can take a magical ranged weapon and a lance. Like a reaver bow and a lance (even though armybuilder says you can't).

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    26
    Posts
    41
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Amadis
    You're high elf commander is illegal. Only one weapon of choice, and a hand weapon is allowed.



    You can only have ONE of the following... Magic or Mundane weapon, and no matter what you will ALWAYS have a hand weapon.



    No you can't. You're lance is automatically replaced when you choose a magic weapon.
    Are brettonians an exception then?

    They have hand weapons and can have lances, but it says that if armed with a lance and magic weapon then he will use the lance on the charge then the magic weapon in subsequent round. This suggests that he can have a hand weapon, lance, and magic sword.

    i know its not HE but its still a rule clarifacation.
    id also like to know how this works.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Teron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    Yes, that is a Bretonnian-specific rule. (In fact, if a Bret has a magic weapon and a mundane Lance, he HAS TO USE the Lance on the charge)
    Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
    NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
    Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
    Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD

  8. #7
    Son of LO strewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,348
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    139 (x8)

    Nah thats not completely true, you can have both a mundane weapon and a magic weapon. Te rules only say that with the choice, you have to use the magic one at all times so the mundane one is a complete waste of points. The exception for Brets is that they can charge with a normal lance then in the second round switch to a magic weapon.
    The LO ANZAC Clan!

    The Pirate's Haven BFG clan! Breathe life into this fantastic GW system.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts