Archers shoot in two ranks? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Archers shoot in two ranks?

Hi everyone,

I'm a HE newbie. I've played about 15 games as HE, which comprise my entire WHFB experience thus far. I have done OK: about 50% in W/D/L.

This might seem obvious to those of you who are more experienced, but I don't understand why being allowed to shoot in 2 ranks (as we are told will be allowed in the forthcoming HE book) is so valuable? I also don't find myself moving all that often with my archers. So, I find them on the whole pretty ineffective and generally leave them at home. A single unit of 10 for 120 points in a 2000 pt list is worthy of consideration, at most. I'd almost rather just hire some Dogs of War crossbowmen for the S4 hits, but the rare slots are so valuable.

Anyway, I have to say that at 12 points, being able to fire in 2 ranks instead of 1 still just doesn't cut it for me. Their main use is just to line them up and shoot stuff every turn anyway. What they really need is a price drop. At 10 points with light armor included, I'd happily take them. That's actually not unreasonable considering what Wood Elves pay for their uber-shooters.

So, how is it that I've been misusing my archers in general that I'm not finding myself really ecstatic about the proposed buff (of shoot in two ranks) to HE archers?

Cheers,
    -TGK

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)