Howdy all,

Treadhead Arisen @ the Eternity Gate has requested that I share some ideas and pointers with him on sculpting your own models from scratch. Whilst no expert on the matter, I have recently tried my hand at doing this for myself, which can be located here: Link

Now I thought that so long as I am sharing some ideas with treadhead, I should perhaps share it publicly for anyone else who is interested.

As I said, I am no expert, but I think perhaps I can give a perspective that you cannot get from tutorials by professional sculptors, and that is the perspective of a novice, just like any number of you who are reading this now.

Treadhead wishes to try his hand at a Vampiress for his Vampire Counts army for Warhammer Fantasy, so I will focus my suggestions on this idea, but anything in this article could be applied to almost any sculpting project.

With any sculpting project, the first thing to start with is reference material. In the case of Vampire Counts, the army book is a great place to start, along with the Games Workshop website, White Dwarf, and any number of vampire books, games, movies and TV shows.

But I suppose I am getting a little far ahead of myself. The VERY first thing you need when sculpting is an armature. For those who don't know, an armature is a frame around which to sculpt your model. Now this can be as simple a thing as some bent metal rod stuck together with green stuff, or if you really want to you can go as far as a "store bought" variant, of which you can find examples at Pack - 2 x 28mm scale male armatures