Librarium Online Forums banner

Painting/Coloring advice

988 views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  slorak 
#1 ·
Hello all. Bit of a 2-sided question here.

I’ve been collecting and painting space marines for several months now, and only in the last few weeks have I been bothered to convert any of them. The whole chapter is DIY, and so has a bit of a night fight/assault/infiltrate theme going on, with all models based on snow, each in codex grey armor with lich purple and hawk turquoise markings/etc. Now I have a custom commander unit with a custom power weapon – a scythe.
Naturally there is a lot of fluff behind my chapter and my new unit and this is what's causing my problem. I have been racking my brains and throwing paint everywhere trying to work out the best coloring to use on the blade of the scythe but to no avail. I want the blade to be dark, yet (as my fluff describes it) “awash with arcane energies” and I’m having a little trouble getting a dark blade with a darkish ‘energy’ to look right (I don’t really want a bright energy field over the blade, as i feel it would be a bullet-magnet in night fighting). Any ideas on the coloring or advice would be highly appreciated here!

On the other side of this problem, is how to paint it. Until recently I have only ever painted ‘nids, and their lack of any ‘energy’ fields and such never left me needing to paint ‘energy’. A blend is relatively straight forward, as is layering different shades, etc, however my attempts on other marine's power weapons never seems to give a true feel of raw energy. Instead it comes off as a bit of a glow. If you have any tricks you would like to share here, that would really help.

Of course I will be posting images once the model is painted up!

Thanks in advance!

CR

See less See more
#2 ·
Get some colour shifting paint.