Help With Easy Rust - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Help With Easy Rust

I'm looking for an easy, yet effective way of creating rust. Specifically, on Necrons.

I'm a novice painter so I want nothing too complex, none of the 50/50 brown ink wash with watered down scorched brown, etc. etc. Something that doesn't use too many paints and so easy a noob like me could do it

The effect created doesnt need to be the best out there, but good enough you can tell its rust.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputation
    59 (x1)

Honestly you could just try some straight brown ink or flesh wash and see how you like it. I think the effect is decent.

Here's two passes of brown ink on top of Chainmail (which had recesses washed with black ink and was highlighted with Mithril Silver):

The photo light source has made the tip of the chainsword a bit blown out, but you get the idea. It's not the best rust effect but it's definitely serviceable. Whatever you decide on, it's important to not over-do the effect. You can always add more passes!

EDIT: Alternatively, here is another rust effect I was experimenting with. This one is more involved but gives a better result:

That was done with:
    2-3 layers of watered-down Snakebite Leather
    1-2 layers of watered-down Beastial Brown
    and 3-5 layers of watered-down Beastial Brown + increasing amounts of Blood Red + Chaos Black (makes a deeper brown).

Sounds like a lot of work but it goes by quickly if you assembly-line it on all of your models.