painting 101? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: painting 101?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

painting 101?

I really want to take my painting to the next level. right now i think my miniatures are table top quality, some have flaws but overall i am happy with them. I look around here and see some beautiful figures and was wondering.

how do I highlight a bright color my space marines chapter is a base coat of hawk turquoise but they look plain and flat. without any highlights, should i just use white?

i'm a fairly new painter ( usually just do scenery) but playing is no fun with a bunch of gray models. what is the best way to learn techniques like shading? is that even possible with a color like hawk turquoise. sorry if that's a dumb question.

can you make a wash by combining GW paints and water?

Thanks
    -John

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Keeper of Records and Ale King Ulrik Flamebeard's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1372 (x8)

For a highlight of Hawk Turquoise, I suggest you add a small amount of skull white. It makes it brighter, apply it to the edges of your miniature (edge of shoulder pads for example) and you should have an effect highlight. Just don't make the highlights too thick.