But is it blending? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x1)

But is it blending?

Well after alot of time and patience i came up with this sword! Tell me what you think!

THis is my first time ever trying to wet blend so I think it came out decent.

NiD

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Looks good to me. Only thing that I think could change is the purple towards the base of the sword could be darker in order to increase the contrast.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    127 (x3)

There are a few definitions of blending. Here are some:

1. Wet blending, what you're doing. Wet-blending is the most difficult (IMHO) way to master. You really need to invest in some paint extender/retarder if you want to be able to work your blends for a while, or even use oil paints (not recommended if you haven't used them on canvas before) as they stay wet for up to a day or two.

2. Glazing. Glazing is generally the term for using very thinned paints to tint colors for warmer tones, cooler tones, brighter and darker. Usually start with a midtone basecoat, work the shades then work the highlights up.

3. Getting frustrated. I recommend a good quisinart or a wal-mart blender if you're tight on the cash.