Need help, Defiler arm magnetization ideas. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need help, Defiler arm magnetization ideas.

Ok, so i'm fairly new to conversion work and i just bought my first defiler and i was hoping to magnetize the Chassis' CCW's, the body to the chassis and the weapons for mobility and customization purposes. The chassis to the body will be simple and i can ratify the fact that the body is hollow with a some circles of plasticard or something so the arms can be magnetized. but the arms pose problems.

The defiler's legs all come with ball and socket joints and fit snugly with no gluing required but i have foung that the CCW's sockets are far to loose and won't hold a position at all. a friend reccomended magnetizing them with a magnet in the center of the socket and one in the ball, but that only allows for very limited movement due to the poles on the magnets, (he is supplying me with some 1/8 inch ones that he uses for weapon swapping on SM's and dreadnaughts. O and he recently built a furioso dread with wings and a force weapon that looks AWESOME!, but thats off topic).<-- that was long, sorry. My other idea for the CCW is putting a magnet in the socket and finding some small metal, iron or nickel so its will stick to the magnet obviously, ball that i can insert into the center of ther CCW's ball so it will rotate freely, but i dont know if that will be strong enough to hold up the large claw arm, or for that matter, where i could find such a ball. O and my friend also has some 1/4 inch magnets that he doesnt use that he could give me if those might work better.