painting questions... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

painting questions...

Hello,
    Im fairly new to 40k and was wondering about the rules pertaining to paint requirements on figures.

From what I have been able to find the only rules I've found require at minimum 4 colors on each figure within your army.

My question is; must ALL figures have the exact same paint scheme? or can I do what I am planning on doing and have a different scheme based on the units type(HQ, Troops, heavy, etc...).

thanks...

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

There are no real 'rules' about painting an army. You can technically do what you like. That being said, there's something to be said about consistency and unifying the look of your army.

Keeping in mind that some armies already have different colors/badges/etc based on the unit type. What army are you building?
    My Blog

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

It's a tau army, but i dislike most of the different "sept" colors. save for bork'an but it seems like everyone already uses a variation on it, I also wanted to just try something different by painting the unit by role rather than the army's color scheme.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    84 (x2)

Generally people tend to use:
    Table Standard: Three colours over an undercoat.
    Cabinet Standard: Usually averages to around twelve colours.