I need 'Red' advice. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I need 'Red' advice.

Here is the guy I am currently doing.

Mauler1.jpgMauler2.jpgMauler3.jpg

I am not finished with him yet, I've done the growths and skin so far, but I'm not liking the skin. This is my first time doing Red as my main color scheme, and I wanted a red flesh like tone, but this guy ended up looking like a half sucked gobstopper.

Does anyone got any advice on making him look more natural. I was thinking of giving the skin a brown wash and then dry brushing a Brown red mix, but I'm afraid it will look more brown than red.

Any ideas or thoughts would be welcome.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    282 (x5)

Well, as you notice if you highlight red with white it turns pink, this is the main reason way red can be hard, when I paint red, I often shade down to a dark brown shade almost black and highlight up to red, then ad some orange for extreme highlights, IMO dry-brush never is the answer (if you not speed paint the model, or going for a advanced dry-brush, glaze technique...) if speed is in portent the use a dip and be done with it...