Tips & tricks: Painting foibles and habits... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Tips & tricks: Painting foibles and habits...

Before i ever got into this game my mom was a bit of an arts and crafts buff, and she took her crafts WAY to seriously but then she was also pretty good at them too though.

The point is, that when i started painting these miniatures I inherited her set of waterbased acriylic paints she had collected from various craft stores.

I did NOT, however inherit here quite extensive collection of brushes numbering over 30 in all of almost every time and size. Apparently they were too good for me to use and i would ruin them or something.

Years later i have finnaly started to realize the benefits of a well maintained and good quality paint brush.

So, what are the sort of odd things you all do when preping, painting, cleaning, etc. your models and supplies and tools?

For starters, i have taken to keeping a bar of regular soap around at all times and everytime i finish with a brush i thouroghly rinse it, rinse it again in a seperate cleaner water cup, and then stroke the still wet brush against a groove i cut in the bar of soap to shape and form it. This way when the brush dries it holds its nice pointy shape and doesn't 'fray' I also imagine that the soap might help keep the brushes clean a bit too. (this technique taught to me by mother dearist of course...)