Need some help with Tau Paint Scheme - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need some help with Tau Paint Scheme

Hey All.

Ok, I started Painting some Tau last night. I started with a Broadside I had. I Undercoated it Black with chaos Black and gave it a Base Coat of Scortched Brown and it went pretty good. But now this is where I run into problems. I tried to put the Vomit brown on and i tried it 2 different ways, straight from the bottom and 50/50 with water and it's horrible in being applied. It's either chalky or streaked and very light. Is this a colour type that needs multiple coats? Or am I doing it completly wrong? Advice would be very helpfull.

Thanks in advance.,

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The New Vomit Brown is indeed a thin color that needs multiple coats - they seem to have changed it, because my older screw-top covers quite nicely.

So either patience, and lots of thin smooth coats - or use a more opaque color to make life easier.

It sounds like you're going for the classic Tau color scheme... why not use white primer (the vomit will cover much easier over that), and then paint the lines in with thinned Scorched Brown - since it sounds like you're covering up everything but the recesses anyway.

Or, if you really want to build up from such a dark brown, use intermediate colors - Dark Flesh, Bestial, Vermin, Snakebite... then Vomit.