Primer - can you live without it? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

Primer - can you live without it?

I might come out as a total noob now and a colossal disappointment to the whole community but here is my question: Should I use any primer?

I am almost ready to paint my first tank. Never done one before, but I posted several models here in the gallery and I think that I am doing OK so far. I did over 50 models I'd say, and did not use a bit of primer to date

What I do is use my trusty old toothbrush and some dishwashing liquid with warm water to get ANY trace of hand-oils or dirt from the models, dry them quickly and paint them with a brush with watered down chaos black. It usually takes two coats to get a good coverage, and the figs are handled with hands as little as possible during painting.

I never had problems with doing it that way, and I feel that the paint sticks on pretty well. I think that it gives me good control over where the paint goes, as well as adequate thickness of paint (not too much not too little).

Now, I’ve read that some people do not use primer as well. I have ready that some say that primer actually is black paint in spray. Other said that when priming black you still have to go over with a light coat of CB because the quality of color is a bit different, so I am not sure what to think any more...