Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How much can you convert a dread before its not tourney legal?
I mean is there anything wrong with moving around weapons as long as the dreadnough has the weaponry to match its codex stats?
One thing im thinking of doing in the future is making a fire support dread (ie TLLC and missile launcher). And then modifying him so that both of his arms each have 1 lascannon each, and the single missile launcher is replaced by missile pods on both shoulders. (think of the Mad Cat from mechwarrior)
Now the model still has 2 lascannons for the twin linkage, and a missile launcher split into 2. So this is still WYSIWYG right?
Oh and while im at it, according to the new SW codex dreads have 2 attacks, so my friends furioso has 3?
Well, you need to preserve the fact that it's:
>>Armed with a TLLC/ML. (or whatever)
That's pretty much it. The BGB clearly states that walkers have a 180 degree firing arc, so no issues there. The only possible issue I can see is that the ML might appear to be Twin Linked, but unless you try to count it as such, no worries. It's a risk I strongly encourage you to ignore, 'cause a Madcat Dread would rock so very hard. :ninja:
lol this sounds legal to me.
Go for a Mad Cat MKII! Great Idea, good luck.
Hi guys, followup question to Sempervigilans: I too have a converted Dread - 3 to be exact, the long and short of which is this, One of my dreads has twin linked autocannons on BOTH arm areas. Yes, a total of x2 Twin linked (4) AC. Is this legal if I take the points cost into effect? According to the design rules of custom vehicles, I do account for the second set of twin linked AC at considerable cost. I have 2 other dreads - the three (for Fluff are literal brothers who were recruited into a variant of the DA SMs and were the only three of their battle company left after a major fight. They were all three honored by being intered in Dreads. Thanks!
~Peace only comes through superior firepower. Now Reload Dammit!
~Fight smarter, not harder!
"Hold your fire until you see the whites of their eyes!...Oh screw it! It's not like these lowest bid lasguns are going to do anything anyway. Open Fire!" ~ Lt. Marcus Aurileus Cashain'tus
Iunno the rules exatly buuuuut arent dreads guys that are dead already?? so they killed them? lol
What you are we once were. What we are you will become!!!
hey maverick there are rules for Mortis pattern dreads in one of the imperial armour books (#1 maybe? i forgot), mortis dreads are supposedly only used by DA and DA sucessor chaptors and they have twin ranged weapons of the same type.
So you could use the points cost for those without needing to dip into the custom vehicle stuff.
The Dread should be fine unless (idk the loyalist codexes) the model can take 2 twinlinked autocannons. But its legal just make sure everyone understands this and show it to them.
it should be fine since the chaos oblits are packaged with assault cannons on thier sprue, but the oblits cant use assault cannons and neither can any chaos model o.0
Last edited by bestial; April 18th, 2006 at 21:32.