Painting Flesh - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Painting Flesh

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Painting Flesh

I searched but could not find a suitable answer, so here goes.
    When painting flesh colours, do you flesh wash first, last or both? Just looking for a little help with this topic, I have been painting undead for sometime and this is my first attempt at any sort of "human" flesh colour.

Thanks in Advance,
    Manakari

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

there are SO many ways to paint flesh man... my suggestion is go on google and look for warhammer forums. There is bound to be the answer your searching for. I persoanlly havent painted my empire guys in like 6 months and so would need refreshing on it aswel.
    What you are we once were. What we are you will become!!!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    425 (x8)

It really depends on what kind of skin tone you are looking for as to what shading you will do. You definitely would not do the flesh wash first as the flesh ink would not cover black at all and would be very pale against a white primed figure.

Flesh wash is good for a fair skin. Basically I would base in an elf flesh, maybe dwarf flesh, do the flesh ink wash and then build up the highlights through pale flesh.

If you are going for a darker skintone you might want to replace the flesh with a brown ink wash.