Furies paint scheme - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Volendam, The Netherlands
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

1 (x1)

Furies paint scheme

Since I'm raised with the "if you don't know, ask somebody who does" principle, here I am

I bought a blister of furies a couple of weeks ago, and decided to start on them today. Since I'm pretty new to WHFB and painting miniatures (apart from the furies, I've got 5 almost finished chaos warriors), and I don't know what paint scheme to go with. I have a general idea, but that's about all.

I like a reddish theme. I currently have Scab Red, Blood Red and Blazing Orange to go with (if I'm to paint them this week, that's all I have. The closest GW shop is too far off to just go to). I also got a bottle of Red Ink.

For the body, I'm kind of torn. I thought about Scab Red base and a Scab Red/Blazing Orange mix for highlights. Since I've never highlighted before, and I'm kinda nervous about trying, I don't want to go with too much highlighting (so no 6 color highlights, as seen somewhere ). What would you suggest I'd do with the colours I have, or what colours do you think I should get from the GW store?

About the manes: I'd want them to have a rather darkish look, I thought about black base with a Codex Gray drybrush. Go for it, or try something lighter, buy Shadow Wolves Grey/Fortress Grey or anything?

Also, when I'm gonna highlight, I heard it's best to "wash" it with the base colour afterwards, to make the highlight smoother. Would you suggest I'd water down the base colour and wash it afterwards, or use the red ink maybe?