Librarium Online Forums banner

My First Chimera!

2K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  BLADERUNNER 
#1 ·
Well since I'm running Mechanized Imperial Guard, I thought it'd be appropriate to get around to painting a tank. This took WAY too long, but now I know some tricks to cut down on time for the next one.

I'm really proud of it for being my first try since drybrushing Ultramarine tanks and I hope you like it!

Thanks for looking!

See less See more
#4 ·
I like it. Nice work.

Actually if you want to share your tricks I would be very grateful. I have a few tanks but I haven't tackled them yet so any tips before I get cracking on them would be great.

#6 ·
This was absolutely my favorite part of the project.

Since the last time I painted a tank was when I was a newbie for my Ultramarines, I really wanted to do my best so I did a little research and found this:

http://www.paintingclinic.com/operations/15mmstuart.htm

By far the biggest help to me was that tutorial. I did it differently than he did, but it was the same idea: Apply transfer, shoot dull cote, and then weather to your heart's content before hitting it with dull cote again. In order to make it look a little more like freehand, I painted on top of the transfers with Codex/Fortress grey and then did the weathering. GW's transfers are just too WHITE to use right off the sheet.

Thanks for taking a look at my pics!

#8 ·
Thanks Kuffy!

The highlights are there, but I didn't go quite as high with them as I do normally on my guys. It's meant to be dirty and grimy so I thought more extreme highlights would have been counterproductive. I may tweak it a little more later especially on the top of the model using a light drybrush followed by a wash to bring it back down a tad. The large, flat panels always confuse me as to which part should get the highlight. :) By the end of this army I should have a pretty good idea as to how the hell to paint a tank!

#10 ·