Librarium Online Forums banner

Help me enjoy painting?

1K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  slorak 
#1 ·
I am really bad at painting, even tough I have been playing warhammer for many years! And I have hordes of plastic grey minis from all the armies I have collected over the years (and some which i never collected).
The only accual project I have completed was a Vampire Counts army I painted to be in a tournement, and I was also under a very desperate time pressure, and it became REALLY ugly.
What I am looking for is an army that is fun to paint, and not very hard to paint. I am not looking to take it to a normal point level just 400 or 500 points (40k and WFB respectivly). I would want them to be fairly few in numbers, but good practice.

Other then that, I could really use some ideas of how you find the time to paint? I am stressed out by school. I haven't got a lot of money, so could anyone help?

Please bear in mind, I want the army to be fun and pretty easy. But it is all in the name of trying to make me a better painter.

#2 ·
40K - the easiest way to paint something effective is drybushing, particularly metalics, there are three armies that leap to mind therefore:

Necrons (but dont tend to perform well at 400 points)
Iron warriors
Iron hands (or other metal coloured SM chapter)

All easily done by spraying with black, then dry brushing with boltgun metal. Although Iron Warriors subsequently require faffing around with gold, yellow and black

#3 ·
yes. I know the basic tecniques (altough not always good at using them, apart from drybrushing). But I have tried necrons, and they pose no real practice. They only fill the easy part, so I won't learn anything which I REALLY want. If I find a camera, I might upload some of my most recent and successful minis, but they are all in 'flat' colours...

#4 · (Edited)
Any of the space marine armies are quite easy to paint.

For example Blood Angels.