Armoured Company - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Armoured Company

    Hi folks

    Im mainly an SM player but since playing imp guard and reading some of the books from bl i thought that id try for an armoured company,

    So far i have the following

    Baneblade
    2x Plasma Destroyer
    2x leman russ

    (got 3 lemans currently being built)

    5 squads of cadian shock troops
    1 heavy weapon platoon (2 lascannon, 1 autocannon)
    command squad
    death watch kill team and drop pod

    What else do you guys think i need couple of chimeras (heavy armour so no artillery)

    Thanks
    Hellblade


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I Expect the Inquisition RecklessFable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central Jersey
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,422
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    210 (x5)

    What rules are you using?
    RecklessFable's Journey to Mediocrity (Painting an IG army)
    I've been addicted to World of Tanks lately and neglecting my IG... But it is so... much... fun!

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    the armoured company rules lol there different from the ig rules in the codex.

    Doctrine wise im using heavy armour--mechanised--carapace--grenadiers i got one spare

  5. #4
    I Expect the Inquisition RecklessFable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Central Jersey
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,422
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    210 (x5)

    The old Chapter Approved list says that you can't mix Codex:IG and Armored Company Doctrines.

    There are also folks who use Forgeworld lists, which your Plasma Destroyers and Baneblade imply.

    Since your Doctrines and Tanks don't match the Armored Company rules I'm looking at, either you are using a different armylist or haven't read through thoroughly.

    So my question still stands as to which rules you are using...
    RecklessFable's Journey to Mediocrity (Painting an IG army)
    I've been addicted to World of Tanks lately and neglecting my IG... But it is so... much... fun!

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    woops i wasnt given the front couple of pages (mate gave them to me) my bad,

    Heavy Armour
    Crush and grind
    Ace gunners
    Ace sponson gunners
    Evasive driving

    (does the special equipment come under doctrines)?

    where do i get the forgeorld ones from?
    Last edited by hellblade; December 29th, 2008 at 22:47.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Can't take a baneblade either, well unless it's a friendly game and you guys agree super heavies are cool. OR you're running an armored battle group from the IA: Vol 1 book.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    28
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    ah ok, could i combine the two, or write some adequate fluff to allow the baneblade

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    If it's a friendly game, you can use whatever the heck you want so long as your opponent doesn't wanna kick you in the jimmy when you show him your list.

    If you wanna play an "official" game, meaning a legal list, then no.. you can't combine the two or write fluff. Baneblades (and all superheavies) are taken as a completely separate detachment, which means it's not technically part of your army but an army list of it's own.. since most games are for one army list this makes taking a baneblade a no-no and it's how Rogue Traders justify no super heavies in their tournies (also the director tells you no and slaps you on the head). You also can't combine the two cause, well, it's sorta like two different codex for the same army. Same thing goes for Codex: Catachan, you can't combine the rules for it with Codex: Imperial Guard (except where otherwise noted in the former codex) and get the best of both worlds.

    The armored battlegroup army list was written for the previous codex, so there are a few changes that had to be made that got me questioning and had to email Warwick to get clarification on, if you go this route let me know I'll give you the updates, but it still won't get you a baneblade... for that you gotta go Armageddon and spend another $80 on books.

    This game gets more and more like Dungeons and Dragons every freakin year.

  10. #9
    Senior Member ShakaZulu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    530
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x2)

    Armored Companies don't have Infantry
    We who have seen war will never stop seeing it....In the silence of the night, we will always hear the screams....

  11. #10
    Senior Member Stella Cadente's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England, telford
    Age
    28
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by 034TH View Post
    Can't take a baneblade either, well unless it's a friendly game and you guys agree super heavies are cool. OR you're running an armored battle group from the IA: Vol 1 book.
    yes you can, Super heavies count as a separate detachment (which requires permission anyway), so no matter what army your running you can take one

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts