Need help for a 1500 point, new player - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Need help for a 1500 point, new player

Hiyo all. I've been toying around with starting a 40K army recently, and a friend of mine just sold me 3 Leman Russ, some officers and commissars, and a Chimera for $50, so I figured now was the time to hop in.

I'm looking at making it 1500 or 2000 point, since that is what the local game shop here plays most often. I'm extremely new at 40K, and only played Flames of War, so I'm still trying to decide what to take. I have a love of big guns along with lots of grunts, so I was thinking of something along the lines of

1x Command HQ, maybe with Mortars and a Vox
    1x Stormtrooper Squad, possibly
    2x Infantry Platoons with 3 squads, with some heavy bolters and missile launchers
    scattered in
    1x Armored Fist Platoon with 2 squads & the Chimeras OR another normal platoon with several squads and my Chimera I already own tossed in. Might give them either a Vox or a Commissar. I don't know if making them armor hunters or using them as a flanking element would be more useful, since I do already have 3 tanks as a heavy punch against armor. I was thinking of making them an anti-infantry screen for the tanks.
    1x Heavy Platoon with the 3 Leman Russ, with sponsoon bolters and one officer