Space Marine Help - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Space Marine Help

    Alright, so if you have an army of regular Space Marines (Ultramarines), you can add Space Wolves, Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Etc. to your army of Space Marines as long as you get their Codex, right? I would like some clarification on this topic before i decide to expand,
    Thank You.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Nope, each codex is a separate army and the only way to include more than one army in a force is by using house rules or the multiple detachment rules.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    So if I wanted Dark Angels, I would have to have a whole seperate army?

    ---------- Post added at 22:40 ---------- Previous post was at 22:34 ----------

    So if I wanted Dark Angels, I would need to have a whole seperate army?

  5. #4
    Firefly Skarsgard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Outer Rim
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,209
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    You can or you can simply have your army "count-as" a dark angel successor chapter. But you cannot mix and match within the same list. i.e. you cannot have spacewolf and darkangel units in the same list.
    Mirage Arcana Podcast
    The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Guthbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,043
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    63 (x3)

    basically, you can't mix the rules of two (or more) different codex together for one army.

    If you are using multiple detachments, each army would use the rules of their relevant codex. Basically its like you are using two different armies at once. Using Blood Angels and Dark Angels together would be like using Orks and Tyranid in the same list; each detachment should follow the force organization chart and have at least 1 HQ and 2 troops. Just because both armies are in power armor doesn't mean they are the same.

    The "counts as" rule can let you use models normally used in other codexes in the same codex but using the rules from the codex you are having them "count as." Example: Tactical marines could be used as tactical marines from any other codex, Blood Angels Death Company could easily count as Assault Marines from any codex or Vangaurd Veterans from Space Marine Codex. They are, of course, no longer death company in this case.

    Counts as is also nice when making your own HQ. You can model him with the same wargear as special characters in the codex and give them the same rules (and point cost) but make him painted and modeled unique for your own chapter.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts