How do Artillery Strike (Orders) Work? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    How do Artillery Strike (Orders) Work?

    I'm new to 40k and I was wondering how Artillery Strikes worked.

    You need an artillery piece on the table already right? And then a command unit to spot for a strike. But it lands the TURN after?

    What the point of an Artillery Strike when your own Artillery can fire by itself? In what situations is this order best used?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot cKerensky's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,677
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x5)

    If you're talking about the master of ordinance, its just just like any other ordinance weapon, nothing overly special about it, other then its innacurate bombardment.

  4. #3
    Senior Member stayscrunchyinmilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2,399
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    370 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by DorianGray View Post
    I'm new to 40k and I was wondering how Artillery Strikes worked.

    You need an artillery piece on the table already right? And then a command unit to spot for a strike. But it lands the TURN after?

    What the point of an Artillery Strike when your own Artillery can fire by itself? In what situations is this order best used?
    If you are talking about the master of ordinance:
    You don't need one on the table already. (He's calling in artillery strikes from miles back)

    And a command unit to spot for it? You can only include a master of ordinance (who allows the strike) with a command squad, so yes, in a fashion.

    Landing the turn after? No. It's immediate. not accurate (read the Master of ordinance entry r.e. the strike), but immediate.

    Or, are you talking about a marine commanders orbital bombardment?
    arty piece required? no he's got a spaceship shooting down.
    Command squad to spot? no, it's him.
    turn after? no, immediate. scatters, but immediate.

    Is that what you were asking about?

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    25
    Posts
    83
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    From Imperial Armour update 1.1

    ARTILLERYSTRIKE
    • Timing:
    An artillery strike will always use the Reserves special rules
    even in missions where reserves are not allowed. Once the
    artillery strike is available, it lands in each Shooting phase of
    the Imperial Guard player’s turn thereafter. The Imperial
    Guard player may opt not to roll for the availability of the
    artillery strike if he wishes, but once the roll has passed and
    the forward observer or officer has selected the target, the
    artillery strike will continue.
    • Placement:
    The blast marker for the artillery strike can be placed
    anywhere visible to the forward observer that is calling in the
    fire. This can be any model equipped with a vox-caster. The
    target can be an enemy model or just a point on the tabletop.
    • (In)accuracy:
    An artillery strike scatters just like an ordnance weapon,
    but if a miss is rolled, the distance scattered is double
    the score on 2D6. If a hit is rolled, the template deviates
    by the distance shown on the dice in the direction
    indicated by the arrow on the 'Hit' symbol.
    • Pinning:
    All artillery strikes cause Pinning tests as for the
    standard rules for the weapon type fired.
    • Apocalypse:
    In games of Apocalypse, only one artillery strike may be
    taken per 1000 points in the force.
    Pts Str AP Type
    Bombard Strike 100 8 3 Ordnance, 7” blast
    Manticore Strike 90 9 2 Ordnance, 5” blast
    Basilisk Strike 70 9 3 Ordnance, 5” blast
    Griffon Strike 50 6 4 Ordnance, 5” blast
    Mortar Battery Strike 50 4 6 Heavy 3, small blast
    Colossus Strike 60 6 3 Ordnance 1/ 5" blast*
    Medusa Strike 60 9 3 Ordnance 1/ 5" blast
    *No cover saves may be taken against hits from a colossus

    --------

    About the spotting thing, in the rules for Command Salamander it stated it was a command unit and thus could spot for artillery strikes.

  6. #5
    Member RexTalon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Texas... unfortunately
    Age
    39
    Posts
    517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x2)

    This doesn't sound like you need a model at all. The thing that's coming in from reserves is the strike itself, not a model launching a strike.

    1) Just choose which kind of vehicle is launching the strike. Pay the points and start your game.
    2) If you successfully roll for reserves, place the applicable template and roll for inaccurate scatter.
    3) Count the bodies.
    4) ??????
    5) Profit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts