Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
You will have to forgive the ignorance of this question as I am relatively new, however I have been reading a great number of the posts on this forum and find myself a little confused. There are many veteran players that talk about giving their skink units sacred spawnings. However to the best of my understanding the rule book clearly states that only saurus units may be given the spawnings. Have I misunderstood the rule book?
Skinks can(must) be given a sacred spawning if you play a Sacred Host list. There are special rules for playing an army that has all of its skinks and saurus with the same spawning. Ex. If you play a Sacred Host of Quetzl army all of your skinks and saurus units must have the Sacred Spawning of Quetzl. By playing a sacred host army it allows you to give your saurus units a spawning without changing its position in the Force Organization Chart. I am sure someone will be able to give you a link to the rules so you can read them yourself. I think they make for a nice, fluffy change of pace army.
Hey NecroNid, I appreciate your quick response. A sacred host army sounds like it could open up some new strategies for an army, if the right spawning was choosen.
Do the rules for a sacred host army apply to all skinks? What I am asking is do the skinks on terradons or the skinks riding on a stegadon get the added benefits as well or do the spawnings only count for the skink skirmishers?
No, only troops that can normally get the spawning (saurus including heroes), Skink skirmishers and Skink heroes must buy the spawning and they are the only ones that benifit from it. This means no spawnings for Terradons, Stegadons, Chamelionic Skinks or the Skink attendent on the Slann Mage Priest.Do the rules for a sacred host army apply to all skinks? What I am asking is do the skinks on terradons or the skinks riding on a stegadon get the added benefits as well or do the spawnings only count for the skink skirmishers?
Southlands and The Sacred Host of Sotek list in the Lustria Book (can't remember the names, Sorry!) are a couple more alternate lists of lizardmen featuring hordes of the little Lizards as Rank and File units. as well as a couple of added extras making the list a different variant to the standard Lizardmen army list.
just another thing to take into account, that you might find useful