Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing in a tourney yesterday and my first game was against a lizardman army. I was playing goblins and after we both set up he deployed his chameleon skinks about 2 inches behind my main line. He said he had a special rule where he has no minimum range to deploy if no one sees them. Just wondering if this is correct because it was a pain forcing all of my fanatics out first turn.
Incorrect. He cheated, but possibly unintentionally.
Its a common misconception that the scouts can do that. But it does say in their rules, may deploy as close as possible, BUT they must still follow normal scout rules. I.E they MUST be placed out of Line of Sight if all your units, AND be in or behind cover / Terrain.
Chameleon Skinks can set up out within 1" if no enemy can draw a LoS to them. If an Enemy does have LoS to them they may only deploy as regular scouts, with the option of being in the open if 12" or 8" away (can't quite remember which).
I stand corrected, 12 lashes and off to bed!
Pheonix, Origin, you are incorrect xD sorry.
Ive found a page on the newly designed GW website contraditing such an assertion at chameleon skinks may not set up directly behind enemy lines. Shown here:
I quote, "Chameleon Skinks are the ultimate in disruption units. Able to set-up in your opponents deployment zone, they can march block from turn one, slowing the enemy down."
In order to march block, you must be within 8"; so, it is a given that the skinks may set up within 8 inches, thus contradicting what Pheonix has said and overriding the normal scout rules.
Last edited by Plague_Lord; May 24th, 2008 at 03:31.
Do you take all your rules from websites? Or do you take some of them from the rulebook? Look things up before you flame others.
I'd like to point you to page 27 of the lizardmen army book and page 96 of the latest warhammer rulebook.
Chameleon skinks can setup within terrain and out of line of sight even within 2", OR can be placed out in the open (even in line of sight) 12" or over away.
Therefore, to the orginal post, the lizardmen player was in the wrong unless they were in terrain.
Games workshop is not a single entity which knows all the rules, it's made up of lots of people who do different things. It could be that was written by one of the company webmasters who was told "write a short entry on each unit", it could be that he's not so familiar with chameleons, and made a mistake
In an FAQ it is pointed out that for the purposes of deployment, an army is considered to have LOS to all areas of its deployment zone, so you can't march block turn one with them.
With regards to calling people noobs, you claim to have only played the game a month yourself, so it is you who is the noob. Also, I suggest you read the forum rules again, looking back over your whopping three posts I can find three things I can pull you up on.
Last edited by Sammy the Squib; May 22nd, 2008 at 17:27.
Cham Skinks can be deployed within the normal 10 inches but must remain out of LOS. The point that what your opponet failed to realize is that all units are assumed to ahve 360 LOS untill the deployment phase is over. That is different than "LOS to all points in deployment zone". If no units have LOS behnd a hill or two inches into a woods the skinks can deploy there AS LONG as they are out of LOS.
So NO your opponet can not just deploy behind your lines UNLESS they are in a woods or behind a hill.
And yes they can march block if they are out of LOS but with in 8 inches.
Last edited by kbolster12345; May 22nd, 2008 at 18:34.